Meet Lady In Red- Ashlyn Mathews

AshlynHi, my name is Ashlyn Mathews and it’s so nice to have the opportunity to introduce myself to romance readers. First off, is this my real name or a pseudonym? Born in Laos (Southeast Asia), I immigrated to the US as a refugee in the 70s, and after many years of having no middle name, I chose Ashlyn (an Irish name meaning dream) as my legal middle name. The last name of Mathews was picked because my husband’s first name is Matthew. Yes, I realize the humor in it now. He’d be introduced as Matt Mathews, lol. But he doesn’t mind. He understands my quirkiness. I made the choice to use a pen name for privacy reasons.

Let’s get the details out of the way:

Single, married, divorced, widowed? Married for 17 years.

Parent? Yes, four boys — a twelve-year-old, a ten-year-old and five-year-old twin boys.

Living where? I live in the Pacific Northwest with a view of Commencement Bay.

Doing what, other than writing? I’m a Registered Nurse and soccer mom.

One—just one—physical characteristic: Brown eyes

What’s your secret passion? My secret passion is to cry over a really good book or movie.

Tell us one thing about yourself you’d never change. I wouldn’t change my drive to achieve my dreams.

Why do you write romance novels? Romantic stories appeals to everyone on a basic level and of all the genres of fiction, romance is my favorite. So it was easy for me to choose romance as something I wanted to write about.

What did you cut from your book that felt like severing a body part? For my debut novel, Shadow Watcher, I had to remove characters I really loved and had planned to use in other books in the series. Over the year of writing Shadow Watcher, I had become attached to these characters and to see them not make it into the final version . . . well, I was very disappointed.  But my disappointment didn’t last because as an author and their “creator” I can still write their stories later down the road.

The best part about my writing life is: The world building of a paranormal romance and the complexity of the issues I can introduce in my contemporary romances.

The worst part about my writing life is: The countless hours and energy it takes to promote a book, especially for a debut author.

Give us a hint about what the next book’s like. My next book is a paranormal entitled, My Fallen, slated for a January 14th release date by Crimson Romance. It’s a bit dark yet sensual. I mean dark in that the hero kills for the heroine. And sensual because they do everything but the final act of consummating the relationship. The heroine believes a mutation in her blood cell will kill the hero should they have intercourse.

On that note, thank you for letting me share who Ashlyn Mathews is. If you want to know more about me or my books, go to Crimsonromance.com, my blog http://www.ashlynmathews.com, or follow me on twitter @ashlynmathews or “like” me on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/ashlynmathewsauthor.

My Fallen Final CoverShadow Watcher

15 Comments

  1. Very nice getting to know you, Ashlyn.
    -R.T. Wolfe

  2. Nice interview! Best of luck with your books. 🙂

  3. Ashlyn,
    thanks for sharing with us about your writing and your life.

    It is nice to get to know you!

    Best of luck with your books1

    Stephanie

  4. It’s always fun to learn more about an author and their book. Wishing you many sales.

  5. It’s nice to get to know more about you, Ashlyn! I am so glad you will include your “cut” characters in other novels. We did that with a chapter in the first Roman tt novel – it fit beautifully into the third. Our baby survived. 🙂 Congrats on SHADOW WATCHERS and I look forward to reading both it and your second novel, MY FALLEN.

  6. Ashlyn so happy to know you- didn’t realize you had that many children…amazing that you do it all and manage to write. I look forward to reading your book and enjoyed finding out more about you from your blog.

    • Anna, I’m always searching for the best way to balance family and my writing life. So far I haven’t found it yet, but my boys are my continual source of laughter and joy, and they’ve all been a blessing for my husband and I.

      Ashlyn Mathews Soulful, sinful romance. Find your light in the darkness. http://www.ashlynmathews.com

      > Date: Tue, 11 Dec 2012 23:34:33 +0000 > To: Ashlynmathews@msn.com >

  7. Congrats on getting two books out, Ashlyn. It is hard to cut characters, but I also know that sometimes readers can get overwhelmed with them and too many stories to follow. It will be interested to hear how/if you decide to write those characters stories at a later date.

    • My editor pointed out the same exact thing. Yes, too many characters can be confusing, and as writers we definitely don’t want to confuse our readers :). Thanks for stopping by!

      Ashlyn Mathews Soulful, sinful romance. Find your light in the darkness. http://www.ashlynmathews.com

      > Date: Wed, 12 Dec 2012 18:30:50 +0000 > To: Ashlynmathews@msn.com >

  8. I found by mixing together a couple characters, it made the story and the character stronger and deeper.

    • I think it’s important to have supporting characters too, especially if they’ll have their own stories later :). That’s what usually keeps me going back to the same authors, in anticipation of their next book, hoping he or she will write about a character I’ve fallen in love with from a previous book.

      Ashlyn Mathews Soulful, sinful romance. Find your light in the darkness. http://www.ashlynmathews.com

      > Date: Fri, 14 Dec 2012 00:22:54 +0000 > To: Ashlynmathews@msn.com >


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

