The Book Signing – A Little Advice

IMG_1994Hello All!

So nice to see you!  I know I’ve been away awhile, but I’ve been so so busy with all the book release adventures and trekking through Promoland.

I have stopped in today to give a few pieces of advice on The Book Signing.

This is not the normal advice you’ll hear about what to wear or what to give to the book store owner.  This is more of what not to do.

#1 Not to do.

Don’t stay up late to paint your fingernails.

But, if you do, only have one color on your table where you’re working.  I have two colors that are very similar.  They resemble the glittery ruby slippers Dorothy wore in The Wizard of Oz.  One is really a hot pink with glitter and the other is the genuine red ruby color.  I love them. They are so fun!  However, it was 3:30 a.m. when I was brushing the glittery paint on my nails.  My left hand is hot pink.  My right is the ruby glitter.

#2 Not to do.

Don’t try new hair products on the day of the signing.

I have naturally curly hair.  I have to use very specific products in my hair so it doesn’t frizz out!  Especially, if it is humid or raining. Well, a few days before the signing I was running out of what I normally use.  The store had run out too. Yes, I know, but I do live in Montana.  🙂  So I picked up a new “flavor.”  That morning, the new item turned my hair white–momentarily–but I still panicked a little.  It rained all day.  By the time I got home, my hair was an embarrassment!

#3 Not to do.

Don’t forget the lipstick.

I keep my lipstick in my purse.  I took my wallet out of my purse so I wouldn’t have to carry that extra bag.  My lovely husband even asked me, “Do you have your lipstick?”  Of course, I responded and left for town.  Luckily, I stopped to buy roses for the bookstore owner and realized, I had no lipstick.  The dear lady at the floral counter helped me pick a color that would be good for my skin and the clothes I wore that day.  Wild!

Can this day get any more crazy!!!!

It turned out to be a wonderful day.  My fellow Crimson Romance Sisters & Montana Romance Writers and I had a wonderful time.

Thank you Fact & Fiction in Missoula, Montana for such a fabulous day!

IMG_1992Casey Dawes, Danica Winters, Pam B. Morris, Rionna Morgan

And thank you to you for sharing in my laughter.

…Do you have any book signing advice?

20 Comments

  1. I’ve done that 3 a.m. nail polish thing before. I don’t recommend it, either. Waking up with ridges in my nails from the weave of the sheets was infuriating.

    • Holley,

      Oh yes, the ridges!! So funny. Very nice to chat with you today. Thank you for stopping in.

      All the Best,
      Rionna

  2. Rionna,
    You’re so fun and awesome. Thank you for making me smile and congratulations on your signing!
    -R.T. Wolfe

    • R.T.,
      YOU are so fun and awesome. I can tell you we’ve all laughed over my silliness a time or two since then. The signing was so fun.

      🙂 Rionna

  3. Don’t ban me from the girl’s club but, one- I don’t paint my nails. Once a year I get treated to a mani pedi from work and sadly, that’s it. And two, not only didn’t I wear makeup (forgot), I never wear lipstick. Well, I did for my photos. LOL

    I do agree on the hair stuff though. My hair’s curly too, but I remedy bad hair days with a hair clip. Never leave home without one.

    Glad you had fun at the book signing. I did one yesterday for Chicken Soup but sold a BRB instead.

    • Lynn,

      You could never be banned from the girl’s club! You’re so awesome. Hair clip is great. I always have one too…in my bag that I left the lipstick in. Ha!

      Congratulations on your book signing!! I love your work!

      Rionna

  4. Laughter seems to be the key for me, and it doesn’t matter what you’re wearing. And showing a lot of fond support for all the other authors present (which, obviously, you do too, judging from that terrific photo!). I don’t use any makeup except moisturizer and my nails are pathetic, but everybody’s looking at the day-glo-white hair anyway, so it distracts them.

    • Linda,

      Day-glo-white! Oh my goodness! That is funny! Laughter is the key as well as the support. Our groups is so amazing and supportive and fun.

      Thank you for dropping in for a visit! Nice chatting.

      Rionna

  5. Rionna, you are the most awesome friend and writing partner an ADD, OCD, introverted and agoraphobic person could ever have. I’d never have submitted to Crimson without you and I certainly would never have been standing with you all this magical day. You are the greatest, bad hair days and lipsticklessness aside!! Love you bunches!

    • Thank you Pam! It was a magical day and I wouldn’t have done it without you!!

      Love you bunches too!
      Rionna

  6. You girls look like you had a blast! Thanks for sharing, Rionna 🙂

    • Kay,

      Thank you for stopping in! We did have a great time. 🙂

      Rionna

  7. It looks like y’all had so much fun!
    Rionna, thanks for sharing all this great advice so that we can learn from your mistakes. 🙂

    Best of luck!

    Stephanie

    • Oh yes! My mistakes. You should have seen me when I was rodeo queen…oh the mistakes we could learn from. Haha!!

      Nice chatting with you Stephanie.
      Rionna

  8. Looks like so much fun. Congratulations on having such a grea book launch.

    • Suzi,

      Thank you for stopping in for a chat!

      🙂 Rionna

  9. Hi Rionna, brought a smile to my face. I can’t give advice on book signing! But here is a Gloss Secret: My curly hair goes out of control in wet weather. Twice a year I treat my hair to Brazilian hair straightening. No more blow drying / hair products. Wash and go! Works like magic!
    Best,
    H

    http://www.gloss-secrets.com

    • H,
      Thank you for stopping by for a visit. Sounds like magic. I love magic. I’ll have to look into it!

      All the Best,
      Rionna

  10. Who needs lipstick when you have that great smile! Glad your book signing went so well. Looks like you all had a good time.

    • Peggy,

      You are such a dear! Thank you for the lovely compliment. 🙂 We did have a great time.

      Smiles from Montana!
      Rionna


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

