Thanks

It’s a little late, but I’m still in the spirit of Thanksgiving. This year I’m thankful for Jennifer Lawler and Crimson Romance for taking a chance on Winter Fairy. I’ve learned a tremendous amount about both the editing process and what it takes to get a book to consumers.  My unpublished manuscripts are becoming better as I apply the lessons learned to their rough-hewn words.

I’m thankful for being part of the Crimson Sisterhood. Writers are a strange bunch in that we don’t view each other as competitors but tend to serve as each other’s cheerleaders.  My fellow Crimson Romance authors have become dear friends and I can’t wait to see us all on the best seller lists.

I’m thankful for my readers. Your kind words for Winter Fairy envelop me in a warm embrace.  I’ll offer you a virtual one now (hugs). More than one reader has asked for more of Penelope, Carson and Eloise, saying they weren’t ready to say goodbye to them.  That is the highest praise an author can receive.  You’ve inspired me to write a second book featuring another member of the Glazier family.

If you haven’t discovered Winter Fairy yet, now is the perfect time to grab a cup of coffee, a slice of cheesecake and your preferred reader. But before you do, I’d love to know what characters have stuck with you after you finished the book?

Recuperating ballerina Penelope Glazier can enchant the young girls in her Fairy Dreams class, but will her winter magic work on Carson Langley, the sexy but straight-laced single father of her most talented student?

20 Comments

  1. Lola, I totally agree with you. With every book I write and then submit, I learn something new and I hope that never changes. I can’t imagine getting to a point where I know everything (gee, wouldn’t that be nice!)

    Your book sounds wonderful. Enjoy the ride, Patti Shenberger

    • Thanks Patti. Let’s hope for many years of learning.

      Sent from my iPod

  2. You have to write more on them, if only to give us a glimpse of how their love story unfolds now that they’re out in the open. Winter Fairy ended on such a hopeful, open ended note.

    • Thanks for the encouragement. I hope to plot the ideas soon.

      Sent from my iPod

  3. And thank you, Lola, for a wonderful post. I too have learned a lot from the Crimson Romance editors and staff, and, of course, our Jennifer. And the Crimson authors are a wonderful group. I’m grateful for their support, and for their help in my writer’s journey. Best of luck with your novel!

    • Deborah, I think of you as chief cheerleader for our awesome group of authors.

      Sent from my iPod

  4. It’s never too late to be thankful Lola, and I totally agree with your post. I’m thankful for my fellow CR writers, who are the best cheerleaders ever, and for all the readers. I’ve written two books for which the characters won’t leave me alone. So I’m writing a sequel to one right now. Good luck with Fairy Dust. It sounds wonderful!

    • Is it a sequel to Under Her Spell? I hope so.

      Sent from my iPod

      • It is a sequel to Under Her Spell. Two sequels actually. 🙂

  5. Not much to add to what you wrote, Lola, except to agree with it all. It has been an amazing year on this journey in the company of talented and generous Crimson sisters. Thankful? Indeed!

  6. Lola, you have grasped the most important aspects of this writing life… the companionship of other writers and the wonderful readers who are looking forward to your next story.

  7. Great post, Lola. Thanks for sharing it. There certainly is a lot to be thankful for right now. And you are certainly one of the nicest in our group –so thanks to you also.

  8. Wonderful post, Lola! I’m reading Winter Fairy now and loving it!! 🙂

  9. Congratulations on your contract and the very best of wishes to you!
    -R.T. Wolfe

  10. Lovely post,Lola. And yes, it’s wonderful that authors are so supportive of each other.

  11. I’ve called this the year of the cheap PhD in writing. I’m always learning something new, and yes, it affects my wip’s too. Which is a good thing. Great post Lola

    • Lynn – I love the idea of the cheap PhD in writing.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

