Meet Lady in Red: Micah Persell

Introduce yourself, please.  Is this a pen or personal name? Why did you make the choice to write under that name?

Hi ladies, I’m Micah Persell!  This is both a pen name and a personal name.  I didn’t want to write under my married name because I also teach high school.  I sometimes have nightmares about the kids finding out my pen name, reading one of my steamy books, and asking me about it in class.  So, I decided to publish under my maiden name.  I’ll still answer to it in a crowded room if someone calls it, but I don’t have to worry about impressionable young students stumbling across what I write in the romance genre.

Let’s get the details out of the way: Single, married, divorced, widowed? Parent? Living where? Doing what, other than writing?

I am married, and I love it.  Cameron, my husband, is absolutely wonderful (Except for the times he’s horrible, but, eh, that’s the life of a wife, am I right?  You cannot train a man to make the bed, put his dirty socks in the laundry basket, or his dinner plates in the dishwasher.  And if you have, you need to e-mail me and let me know the details!).  I’m not a parent yet, unless you count the two pups and two cats that are running around my house.  I live in Southern California where I teach freshman English classes at a local high school.

What one thing from your books do you take from personal experience?

Not the love scenes!  I always feel it necessary to get that out of the way when a friend reads my books, looks at me askance, and says, “Sooo….”  No, the thing that comes from my personal experience is the retelling of classic biblical mythology.  I had a pretty conservative upbringing—my dad is a pastor—and I cut my teeth on Bible stories.  These stories have everything: war, famine, love, hate, sex, murder.  They’re some of the best stories ever written.  You know that saying, “write what you know”?  Well, that’s what I know (though my sexy twist on the Garden of Eden shocked my poor parents something fierce!).

The best part about my writing life is:

That feeling I get when I write a scene and know I absolutely nailed it!

The worst part about my writing life is:

Finding the time to write.  Between the day job, being a wife, and playing in the symphony, there are weeks at a time where I can’t seem to find five minutes to myself!

Tell us what’s happening in your writing world.

Of the Knowledge of Good and Evil, book two in the Operation: Middle of the Garden series, just came out yesterday, so check it out!  Jericho is dying to meet you.

You can order Of the Knowledge of Good and Evil now at Amazon or iTunes!

Catch up with Micah on Facebook, Twitter, and Pinterest, or check out her website for a special sneak peak of both Of Eternal Life and Of the Knowledge of Good and Evil.

6 Comments

  1. If I find 5 minutes, I’ll share. Great post, Micah. It’s great getting to know you better.
    -R.T. Wolfe

  2. Can’t find time, must make it. Says the woman who hasn’t wrote today.

  3. Thanks for the opportunity to read your book.

  4. Hi Micah – you are SO right about the Bible – there is some twisted stuff in there. Job always scared me to death. . . . punished for being the ‘good guy’. Congrats on your new release!

    • Thanks for coming, ladies!
      And Irene, right?! What a great tortured hero…Now you’ve got me thinking…

  5. I’m a little late to the party…Micah, I love the way you bring the biblical pieces to life in your stories in a way that completely surprises. Very creative.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

