One Week Later – What’s Next?

Hi I’m Nicole and this is my first blog for the “Ladies in Red”. I’ve been a “Red Lady” since June of this year and I couldn’t be happier to be blogging here today.

Well it’s been over a week since my book “Masquerade” was released to the world. So am I any different than I was just over a week ago? Do I look any different? Do I sound any different?

No, I’m still me. I’m still the person that has to get the kids up and make sure they eat breakfast and get to school on time. I still have to wash etc. But I know I’m different. I’m a published author now. A dream that had seemed so far off so many years ago is real. There is a book out there with my name on the front cover and someone right now could be reading it while they catch the train to work.  And that is a most amazing feeling.

So what’s next? Well the obvious thing would be – keep writing. That is so true, but also the doubts set in. The little voice that says, what if this book is the only book I’ll ever sell? What if I’ve lost my creative streak. What if I’m a one book girl? What if I’ll NEVER finish the books I’ve started?

Some might think these thoughts are a little ‘out there’ considering I’ve already got one book published, but they are there. We’re writers we talk to ourselves so of course we have these little conversations in our mind where irrational thoughts turn up ALL the time! It’s allowed.

All joking aside, for me, they have been real thoughts, but I’ve stomped on them. I have a book out there that is getting good reviews. I’ve had a great week since my release and it’s only made me want this more. This isn’t my only book, Masquerade is just the start.
My name is Nicole and I AM a published author.

6 Comments

  1. Welcome to the roller coaster Nicole. There’s so much excitement to releasing your first book, but I didn’t realized how much more work there was to do. Even now, almost six months later, I’m still wondering if I did enough on book 1 to ease book 2’s journey into the world.

    Enjoy this time, the work will be there tomorrow.

  2. The week after is rather surreal, Nicole. There’s so much work that goes into the ‘before,’ then….?? We wait until April to find out if we’ve sold anything. It could drive the most sane of us nuts. 🙂 Hang in there! You’re not alone!
    And congrats on your new release. Very cool.
    -R.T. Wolfe

  3. Yes, you’ll continue to write, Nicole, and you’ll keep getting better. You may not think that’s true at this point, but you’ll learn little tricks every time you apply writer’s glue to your chair (hey, there’s one trick) and stare at that computer. This is just the beginning of an amazing journey.

  4. You captured exactly how most of us, I’m sure, feel after that first rush of “OMG, I’m published.” Just hang in there and keep going. There’s more. And more after that, even!

  5. Congrats on becoming a published author, Nicole!! We all need to enjoy the moment and keep threading on!!

  6. Welcome to the club, Nicole – yes, you ARE a published author and you WILL continue to write. Congratulations on Masquerade!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

