Meet Lady in Red: Terri Herman-Ponce

Wow. I’m feeling a little overwhelmed these days, with my debut today for IN THIS LIFE, and I’m just so excited to be here. I’m operating on little sleep – excitement and lots of writing and pre-release work will do that to you! – but that’s okay. I’m raring to go.

So, to celebrate my book’s birthday this week, I’m going to indulge you with some tidbits about myself. Ready? Good. So am I.

Single, married, divorced?
Married – for 26 years! Been with my man for 31 years now. I know. I can’t believe it myself. There are days I swear I’m still in my twenties and there’s no way all that time has passed.

Children?
Yep. A son, our only, and he’s seventeen. That means getting ready for college, driving and having to let go. Which is an interesting thing, you know? Writing a book and releasing it to the world is just like having a child and watching it grow up and mature, knowing one day you’ll have to let go of it, too. And when you do, it’s with nerves and a lot of hope, but also a lot of love.

What’s your secret passion?
Ancient Egypt. Those beautiful people and that period of time fascinate me. I recognize that a lot of my love for the ancients is romanticized, but I can’t help it. Their culture was rich and colorful, and it set the stage for who we are today. I swore to myself that one day I’ll get a tattoo – and it’s going to be an ankh.

If you didn’t live where you do, where would you live? Why?
My husband and I talk sometimes of moving to Europe and a simpler life. I don’t know if we’d ever do it, but if I had the chance? I’d probably give it a try. Italy’s my love. Never been there but SO would love to spend the time.

Do you write about where you live or where you’d like to live?
Oh, I write about where I live. I’m a Long Islander at heart – love the wine country and the East End! – and that background always makes its way into my books.

Why do you write romance novels?
Shhhh. I have a secret for you. I didn’t start out as a romance writer. I’m more a paranormal suspense writer with romance thrown in as a side dish. I’m in love with my two protagonists, David and Lottie, and have been since the day they were born in my head, oh, 7 or 8 years ago. And I always wanted to write strong suspense with them, but I also wanted to test their relationship to see how they would resolve their issues and stay together. So I push them, and challenge them, and make them sweat it out. Why? Because, in real life, I love to watch couples who are the best of friends and the most intimate of lovers work their way through the worst and come out stronger for it. And so rather than write about couples getting together, I write about couples staying together.

What one thing from your book did you take from personal experience?
Yikes. Now that’s a question I’m not sure how to answer. Hmm. Well, there’s the Long Island backdrop and … oh! I know what it is. It’s my love of red wine. David and Lottie both love to drink red wine. In fact, David drinks an Amarone in In This Life, which is a favorite of mine. They have a wine rack in their den filled with all kinds of reds, but I have to tell you that they love to drink tequila, too. I have no idea where that adoration came from, but they insisted it was there and so I let them have it.

With that said, how about I give you a bit more about In This Life:
Psychologist Lottie Morgan knows something is wrong when she starts reliving memories of a lover she’s never had. At first, she attributes them to fever-induced dreams. But when the fever disappears and the visions don’t, Lottie thinks she may need therapy of her own.

Then she meets Galen. Their first encounter is as intense as it is eye-opening, and Lottie is unprepared for the fire Galen arouses in her. His revelation that they shared a passionate relationship thousands of years ago explains the memories and entices Lottie into wanting to learn more about her past. Her decision, however, comes at a price. Galen may hold the answers but he’s a growing temptation as well. One that could destroy the devoted, lifelong relationship Lottie has with her current lover, David. One that could also cost her life. Someone else knows of Lottie’s past and is determined to stop her from uncovering secrets they want kept hidden.

As parallels between both of her lives emerge and the memories escalate, Lottie becomes caught between two lifetimes, two men and long-buried deceptions that present an opportunity to right previous wrongs. Unless Lottie repeats her past mistakes.  

Thanks for having me today!

Hugs, kisses and good reading,
Terri Herman-Poncé

For more info I can be found at http://terriponce.com/

In This Life can be found on Amazon: http://amzn.to/OX5y6e
And on Goodreads: http://bit.ly/PRzly7

33 Comments

  1. Egypt? How fascinating. You don’t meet many people who would say their fanatasy spot is Egypt. Great post, Terri. Best of luck to you and may you have many, many sales!
    -R.T. Wolfe

    • I know. Most people will pick some place exotic, but to me ancient Egypt IS exotic! And thanks for the good wishes R.T.!

  2. I hope David and Lottie have some Aussie reds in their cellar too, and…tequila? They don’t happen to be fond of margharitas by any chance?

    • They love Aussie reds. How could they not! As for margaritas? Well, David’s mother turned them on to those… LOL Still, they prefer it straight up. 🙂

  3. They love Aussie reds. How could they not! As for margaritas? Well, David’s mother turned them on to those… LOL Still, they prefer it straight up. 🙂

  4. well, that’s strange. WordPress doubled up on my reply. Go figure.

  5. Italy is great, Terri. I’ve been fortunate to do much traveling there and I can safely say my favorite Italian destination is Cinque Terre. You need to go there!

    • Someday. It’s on my bucket list and I swear, someday…

  6. Absolutely love knowing more about you, Terri! And if you get that Egyptian ankh tattoo, I promise – gulp! – to get one for ancient Rome, maybe SPQR. Best of luck with IN THIS LIFE. May you have many, many sales!

    • That’s a deal! My goal is to get the tatt next year. Are you game?? Someone mark this date and this promise in their calendar… LOL

  7. Love the idea of this story, Terri. Congratulations! And thanks for sharing with us!!

    • I’m really pleased I was able to be here today, Pam. Thank you SO much for stopping by.

  8. when you get your place in italy, i’d love to come visit. i’ve never been there either. and amarone is the “fancy” wine we make for christmas. it’s my favourite, too. congrats on your book launch!

    • It sounds like we have a date! I don’t know when it’ll happen…but someday hopefully before I’m too old to enjoy it! LOL

  9. hi, Terri! Happy release day!!!

  10. Cogratulations Terri! Looking forward to reading your book … it sounds fascinating! It’s been so much fun following your progress, too!

    • Cyndy! So wonderful to see you here! Thanks so much for stopping by and the kind words. 🙂

  11. Such fun getting to know you, Terri. I’ve been married 26 years, too. My son, who’s 25 (okay, I know, we didn’t waste any time) lives in Manhattan, so the next time I visit him, maybe we can connect (if you’re looking for an excuse to come into the city). I love the premise of your book, and the setting in Egypt is SO romantic. Best of luck!

    • I work in NYC, Susan, so meeting up should be pretty easy. So glad you came by and yeah, I agree. Egypt is incredibly romantic.

  12. Hi Terri, Nice interview. Love the roses bordering the blog. I grow roses and these are truly beautiful.
    Best of luck with your book. sounds fascinating.
    Richard Brawer
    http://www.silklegcy.com

    • Thanks, Richard! I can’t grow roses AT ALL. I have no green thumb and I envy the people that can grow these beauties.

  13. Toasting the release of In This Life with you today with a good red wine. I’m a red wine drinker too, got hooked on Australian reds. Maybe we’ll share bottles at a writing conference next year!

    Fun to revisit Lottie and David and I’m glad you’re working on their next chapter!

    • Oh, I’d love to do that! And my best friend got me hooked on Australian reds, too! We’ve got a lot in common, Sharon! It’d be a fun time if we could ever make a writing conference happen.

  14. In This Life just got delivered to my Kindle! Can’t wait to get started 🙂

  15. Terri: Happy release day. It’s wonderful getting to know the Ladies In Red. Live your dreams while you’re young and healthy.

  16. Happy Release Day, Terri!!! You have such a nice blog voice! I bet you’d make reading the phone book interesting. It would be so much fun to get us all together~I’m thinking it would be a pretty wild time!

    • Thanks so much for the kind words, MJ. As for a blog voice? Geez, I hope I have SOME kind of voice!! LOL

  17. I didn’t start out as a romance writer, either! I just needed some HEA in my life and figured it was time for a genre shift.

  18. […] October 11, 2012 by Shelley K Wall Meet Lady in Red: Terri Herman-Ponce. […]


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

