It’s a Mystery – post by Nora Snowdon

As a writer I’m often asked where I get my story ideas from. And the answer is simple, heck if I know. Often I’ll be driving along, hear a song and think, right, if they were so perfect together then why did they break up? And I’ll fill in the blanks. So I guess in that instance my characters are inspired by other writers’ imaginary characters—well, unless I was listening to Taylor Swift. Who knows, maybe one of my books is loosely based on John Mayer or Jake Gylenhall?

One book I started with a funeral for Steve the fish. I had no other plot, characters or concept but liked the funeral as an opening hook. That story became about a psychic and a fraud squad cop. Then eventually I cut the opening scene because it no longer fit the story. Someday another story may start that way but only time will tell.

I love opening a book and having no idea where it will go both when I’m reading and writing. I know of people who check the last pages before buying novels to make sure they’ll like the ending. That is totally incomprehensible to me. Even though with romance novels you are supposed to get a happy ending, there’s always a chance something could go wrong. (maybe the writer didn’t get the happily-ever-after memo.) For me, knowing the ending makes the trip a waste of time.

So where do my story ideas come from? All I can say is, It’s a mystery, it’s a mystery, it’s a mystery.

Nora Snowdon Bio:

Living in New York and Toronto, Nora Snowdon was a jerk of all trades—one week hawking toys at major toy conventions, the next in a high end jewelry store pandering to the rich. She worked in the financial market, environmental protection biz, gambling dens, food service industry and sold shoes. During these years she also either appeared in or directed over twenty five plays.

Then Nora moved to the wet coast, took up health foods (dark chocolate and red wine) and became a Writer of Elegant Smut. Her ambition is to become a crazy cat lady and wine hoarder, not necessarily in that order. Visit Nora’s website at www.norasnowdon.com

Her novel Arsonists Anonymous is available now where all fine e-books are sold. Her second release from Crimson Romance is The Spanish Acquisition and will be available Dec 10, 2012

10 Comments

  1. I have the same answer when people ask me where I get my ideas from…I say I’m not sure. 🙂 Great post.
    -R.T. Wolfe
    http://www.rtwolfe.com

  2. Love this! Your sense of humor is right up my alley! And listening to music and writing the story behind it, that’s my thing, too! I hope the Steve the fish funeral makes it into some story as I’m sure it would be hysterical! Thanks for a fun start to the morning!

  3. thanks for your comments m.j. and r.t.. it’s always nice to find you’re not the only one flying cluelessly into new books… altho it seems the problem often isn’t so much getting story ideas, but instead it’s deciding which one gets written first. cheers!

  4. I could be a wine horder, but I’d have to stop drinking the wine. I’m a flying into the mist type of girl as well. Which is killing me on my wip. LOL

    I’ll have an idea of where the story is going, sit down to write, and all of a sudden, the story has taken a new twist.

    • the trick to wine hoarding is to buy more than you can drink at once. 😉 nice to hear from another pantser.

  5. I like to warn people that I’m a writer and potentially ANYTHING they do might be fodder for a book I write.

    • you just have to worry about lawsuits. ;0 (adele’s crappy boyfriend that she wrote all her first album of hurtin songs about, tried to get payment for his “inspiration.” i don’t think he won tho.)
      but yea, life is what we write about. thanks for dropping by.

  6. As a beta reader for Arsonist’s Anonymous, all I have to say is, the story’s HOT!!! I’m so glad to see it out there for everyone to read. Congratulations Nora!

  7. I love your bio! Who needs a back cover blurb when you have a killer bio like that! 🙂


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

