Meet the Ladies in Red: Lola Karns

1. Introduce yourself, please. Hi and thank you for having me. I write as Lola Karns. My given name is tricky to pronounce and I wanted to make it easy for my readers to recommend me to their friends.  I adapted this name to honor my grandmothers, two strong women whose combined happily ever afters lasted over 120 years.

2. Let’s get the details out of the way:

Single, married, divorced, widowed?  Married for seventeen years and counting. We have two lovely children, a daughter and a son.

Living where? I currently live in Chesapeake which is in a part of Virginia that can’t decide whether to call itself Tidewater, Hampton Roads or Coastal Virginia or the Colonial Coast.

Doing what, other than writing? I chase the kids, volunteer at their schools, pull weeds, feed the cats and occasionally take naps.

One—just one—physical characteristic.  My unpolished fingernails look like I had a French Manicure.

3. What’s your secret passion? Photography.  Most of the food and nature photos on my website are ones I’ve taken myself.

4. Tell us one thing about yourself you’d never change. My curly hair – although I do change it with the help of Miss Clarol.

5. If you didn’t live where you do, where would you live? Why?  I love Chicago but my husband doesn’t so probably the North Georgia Mountains or Scotland or Iceland or….At any rate, I like the idea of living somewhere with hills to hike.

6. Do you write about where you live or where you’d like to live?  I mostly write about the Midwest.  I grew up there. I have a few ideas cooking that take place in the South.

7. What’s the first creative writing you remember doing outside a class? I won a poetry contest when I was nine, but I may have written the poem for school.

8. Why do you write romance novels?  Love is such a big part of the human experience. I’ve long been drawn to the love relationship subplots even in non-romance novels because I believe love is one of the ways we better understand our own sense of self.

9. What else do you write? My WIP is a New Adult featuring cars, a much younger sister, celebrity and farmers.  I’m polishing a romance set in the world of corporate league recreational sports.  In my past working life, I’ve written technical manuals and academic book reviews.

10. What one thing from your book did you take from personal experience?  I performed with an experimental dance group in college. I was never a professional ballerina like Penelope, the heroine of The Winter Fairy,but I drew on my dance background.

11. What did you cut from your book that felt like severing a body part? I had one short scene from five year old Eloise’s point of view.  I loved being in her world view for a little bit.

12. Do you identify closely with one particular character? How? I identify with both the hero Carson and the heroine Penelope in their struggle with the idea of sacrifice in pursuit of a life dream. Most women are well aware of the “career vs. family” debate, but I think it’s a lot more complicated than an either/or for women as well as men.

13. The best part about my writing life is: Do I have to pick just one thing? I love being part of the community of authors.  The Ladies in Red are a terrific group of writers and friends.  Likewise, I look forward to meeting of the Chesapeake Romance Writer for the chance to talk about writing face to face. We tend to think writing as a solitary pursuit but it isn’t really.  We get to interact with each other, with editors, with agents and our readers and fans.  I can’t wait to meet you at a book signing. Oh, yes, portability is important too.

14. The worst part about my writing life is: No doubt it is finding sufficient quiet interruption free time to think.  It’s near impossible for me get enough thinking time during the summer when my children are out of school, so I do most of my writing in the fall and winter. Maybe that’s why I love winter themed books so much.  I hope you’ll enjoy Winter Fairy too.

Thanks for having me here today!

19 Comments

  1. […] it’s not technically a blog hop, but today I’m over at the Ladies in Red talking all about, well, me.  Pop on by and get to know me and the other Crimson Romance authors […]

  2. Lola, it was great to get to know more about you here. 🙂 I can’t wait to read the Winter Fairy.

  3. So nice to meet you Lola. Best of luck with Winter Fairy.

  4. Welcome, Lola. I love hills, too. I live in Asheville, so there are lots of options for strenuous hikes.

    • I love Asheville. Hubby and I went there for our anniversary a few years back. So many good resturants and then after dinner you can relax at one of the many bookstores or art galleries while you digest and then head out for a hike. Wonderful.

  5. Welcome Lola. I love your title Winter Fairy. It is so romantic.

    • Thank you. I was so surprised the title stuck. I was certain I’d have to change it.

      Sent from Lyra’s iPod

  6. Lola, your passion for your writing shows in your post, and I wish you only the best for your releases and your writing career. I can identify with the Miss Clairol, you know. Been doing that so many years, I don’t know what my real hair color is anymore!

    • Thank you for the kind words. Do you fear knowing your real hair color too?

      Sent from Lyra’s iPod

  7. Welcome! I’m envious of your photography talents! I, too, take a lot of the pictures for my website and Pinterest pages, but don’t zoom in on them please! 🙂
    -R.T. Wolfe
    http://www.rtwole.com
    Black Creek Burning, September 24

    • I used to do more landscape photography until the kiddos came along. Now the telephoto and a tripod make my backyard an adventure.

      Sent from Lyra’s iPod

  8. Wow, you are talented. And diverse!! Having a lot of material to draw from makes writing more fun, I’ve found. Sounds like you’ve got that in triplets! Winter Fairy looks like a fun read and I love the cover. Best of luck!!

  9. Hi, Lola, it’s nice getting to know you better! Good luck!!!

  10. Winter Fairy is such a sweet, heart-warming story I very much enjoyed. Nice to get to know you, Lola!

  11. Good luck with Winter Fairy – it sounds right up my alley. 🙂

  12. Winter Fairy was a joy to read and I am eagerly anticipating your next release!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

