Roses and Thorns

I need to write this blog post and I can’t. I just sit here staring at my computer screen trying desperately to think of something to write. It’s not because I don’t have anything to say or because I’m not thrilled to be here. I am. And I’ve got plenty to say. I just can’t think of anything worthwhile at this particular moment.

I think it’s because I’m borderline exhausted. And my mind is being pulled in a million directions at once. It’s starting to feel a little mushy up there, like my brain is melting from overuse.

That can’t be good, can it?

It seems like for the last few weeks I’ve done nothing but run around with my kids, take care of my house, write a new book, and promote the two books I just had released. Yes, two. Two times the blogs, two times the promo, two times the amount of stress in wondering whether or not anyone is actually going to buy my book, and if they do buy it, will they like it.

So I came to the Ladies in Red blog to see what other people had been chatting about lately. I wouldn’t want to bore you by blabbing about the same old thing. And for many writers, we all face the same struggles so the same topics often come to mind. Names, characters, plot, writing style, voice, POV etc. It’s all been said and done.

So I am still staring at my computer screen.

I turn to watch my little one’s DS screen while she plays a game beside me, her little body snuggled up close and radiating the kind of warmth that only a little person can. My dog is on the other side of her, snuggled up to her hip, snoring in only the way he can. And my other daughter is sitting on the opposite couch, also playing her DS, her yellow painted toenails (yes, yellow. Ick.) wiggling as she reacts involuntarily to her game.

My little one stopping to smell the flowers along our travels.

I turn back to my computer screen feeling slightly more content though not entirely inspired yet and notice the roses filling the screen, the beautiful background of our site. All of the times my little one has made us stop on our daily dog walk so she can smell a rose growing in the neighbor’s garden, or to watch a caterpillar as it makes its way across the street instantly rush to my mind.

Maybe I haven’t taken enough time to smell the roses lately.

Instead I’ve been focused on all the tiny thorns in my daily life that keep poking me. Little thorns are seriously hard to ignore sometimes! Seems I may have missed the roses through the sea of thorns.

I’ve been so busy writing a new book and promoting two others that I think I may have lost a sight of the things that are really important in my life. Like the two little roses sitting on my couch.

It’s not book sales that matter or blog posts getting written or new pages added to my work-in-progress. It’s health, happiness, family, and friends that matter the most. My roses.

Well, and sleep.

And coffee.

Those things are important too.

So for now, I’m going to sign off and go tend to my roses for a while. I’m not going to focus on my thorns. I’m not going to stress about whether or not this blog post is good enough or if people will like it. I’m not going to count the number of other blog posts and interviews I still have yet to write. (15. I couldn’t stop myself from looking.) I’m not going to focus on the fact that I didn’t get as many new pages written today as I hoped I would. Thorns, thorns, thorns. Poke, poke, poke.

Instead, I’m just going to be happy that I had something heartfelt to write about today.

Then I’m going to make dinner for my kids, eat, snuggle and read some stories with them before it’s bedtime. I’m going to kiss my hubs when he gets home and be thankful that I have such a wonderful man to share my life with. And I’m going to go to bed early. I’m going to read something just for fun and not because I’m editing it.

Soon enough a new day will start and I’ll be struggling with this balance of roses and thorns all over again.

But for right this second I’m just going to enjoy the roses.

Heather Thurmeier

WEBSITE

TWITTER

FACEBOOK

FALLING FOR YOU (aka. one of the books I’m promoting like crazy) is available now!

AMAZON

NOOK

iTUNES

“Heather Thurmeier’s hunky heroes and feisty heroines will have you laughing out loud, falling in love … and coming back for more!” ~ Carly Phillips, NY Times Bestselling Author

“Heather Thurmeier writes sweet, funny romances that capture your heart!” –NYT and USA Today bestselling author Jennifer Probst

21 Comments

  1. Heather,
    Balancing is tricky. I wish you the best of luck!
    -R.T. Wolfe
    Black Creek Burning, September 24

  2. Thank you for stopping by RT. Balance is always the hard part, isn’t it?

  3. What a great blog. I too stared at my computer screen and nothing comes to mind. Can I be interesting enough for people to read. Will they be offended by my multiple grammar and spelling errors. You have given me hope. Now I need to balance my life and complete my blog for everyone to see. Thank you, Mary

    • Glad to hear I’m not alone in my struggles with Rose and Thorns, Mary! Good luck to you in finding balance between the two.

  4. Enjoy the roses indeed!
    Best of luck with your book.

    • Thanks for stopping by, Carmen!

  5. Heather, this blog is perfect. You express what’s going on and realize what is truly important in life. The old expression don’t forget to stop and smell the roses tells it all. Success ahead in all things, my friend.

    • Thank you for dropping by, Charmaine. I knew you would ‘get’ this post. Hugs to you!

  6. Oh, Heather, this was great! As I read it I thought of half a dozen people you could be… so thank you for helping change my perspective. For today at least!!

    • Thank you so much, Pam. I’m glad you enjoyed it. I think we all need a little reminder to take time to smell the roses once in a while. I hope you have lots of roses in your day!

  7. love your attitude, Heather! Stopping to smell the roses is never a bad thing. Unless the roses are planted in the middle of a verra busy street. lol

    • Yes, well, thank goodness my roses are not usually in a busy street! LOL. Thanks for dropping by to chat with me!

  8. One of the things I loved about this blog post–out of many–is that I didn’t see your name until I got farther along in reading it. So it was not just your story but the story of every woman I’ve ever known with a family, a life and a burning need to write. You captured it so well, Heather. Thanks.

    • Thank you so much for the compliments, Peggy. I’m glad you enjoy my rambling post. 😉

  9. Wise words, Heather. We do write so many promoting blog posts that it is hard to find yet more words. Your honest post is like a fresh garden breeze. My kids don’t need me like they used to, so I do have more time, but I think I better check on my garden too.

    • Thanks, Sharon! And I love your garden comment. My garden just got home from school and it’s almost time for our regular dog walk. I wonder how many times we will stop along the way today. Off to tend my garden. 😉

  10. Awesome post! Just what we all needed to hear. It is so easy to get swamped by all the information we are inundated with concerning writing, marketing, and publishing in general, it’s easy to a) become as tired as you describe and b) lose perspective of what’s really important. Thank you, Heather!

    • Seems we’re always told to do more and more and more in all aspects of our lives. Once in a while it’s just nice to take a break from it all and spend time relaxing.

  11. Blog tours do that to me – at the end, all the words run out of my fingers. Take a break, you deserve it.

  12. In order to enrich your life you need to spend time on yourself and your family. Enjoy every moment.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

