Much Ado about twiddle-twaddle…

“What’s in a name? That which we call a rose by any other name would smell as sweet.”

Yes? Okay, then might it not follow that ‘promoting’ by any other name would still be (Webster’s here) 1. To advance in rank or honor and  2. to contribute to growth or prosperity?

We writers have been consumed lately with all we can ethically do to help readers find our books. Yet there is a pre-conditioned paranoia about promotion that has infected social media and, in consequence, us. With so much flotsam and jetsam floating about this issue, I thought I’d define a few categories of ‘promotion’ to shed a bit of sunshine on this murky subject.

 

  1. Anesthetized promotion (loss of sensation)
  2. Irascible promotion (marked by hot temper)
  3. Edacious promotion (devouring or voracious)
  4. Killa-dilla promotion (having a wildly, good time)
  5. Dimorphic promotion (a state of having two different forms)
  6. Hyperbolic promotion (extravagant exaggeration)
  7. Promiscuous promotion (not restricted to one kind)
  8. Irrational promotion  (not based on reason)
  9. Pragmatic promotion (practical, or meddlesome)
  10. Gobbledygook promotion (long winded and pompous)
  11. Copasetic promotion (all safe, all good)
  12. Four letter promotion (rude and objectionable)
  13. Facile promotion (easy, affable)
  14. Irritational promotion (exasperated or inflamed)
  15. Surreal promotion (unnatural juxtaposition)

Creating a list helped me put the nature of this particular beast in perspective. Because as Gertrude Stein said, “ a rose is a rose is a rose”. And we write books for readers to fall in love with. Which means putting our work out there. Artists, like any other business person, must sell or starve.

 

So I say go ahead and get twitter-pated over tweeting. Or avoid stepping on cracks in case you break your sales ranking’s back. I’m staying copasetic and facile while I remain surreal in this four letter world!`

by Pam B. Morris

 

14 Comments

  1. Pam,
    I love that your four letter word promotion is, ‘rude.’ Your so good. 🙂 Best of luck with your new release!
    -R.T. Wolfe
    http://www.rtwolfe.com
    Black Creek Burning, September 24

    • Thanks. What else can you do with such a sensitive topic but laugh? And make fun… !!

  2. You can only do what you can do – new motto. Matches my old motto – you only know what you know.

    Good luck with Smitten Image.

    Lynn
    A Member of the Council, November 5th

    • Oh, you are wise beyond your years, Lynn. YOU certainly know how to keep perspective!

  3. Absolutely–laugh at it or about it–either way, you’ll have a better time doing what you have to do. Great post.

    • Thanks Peggy. I agree whole heartedly with laughing every chance I can get!!

  4. I’m all for Killa-dilla promotion, Pam. What an imaginative posting! And thank you for the laughs. You made my day.

  5. Personally, the Killa-dilla is the best way to play, as you continuously show us! Thanks, Deborah! (I kinda write these to give you a laugh, y’know!)

  6. […] Much Ado about twiddle-twaddle… (crimsonromanceauthors.com) […]

  7. So much fun! I always love your posts. 🙂

    Rionna

    • Thanks, Rio! Gotta have my fun and silliness!

  8. Great post Pam! I’m still trying to figure out what to call my promotion. But Irrational Promotion is pretty close! Thanks for the laugh.

    • Thanks, Diane. If we have to take promotion so seriously, then we can at least have fun at it, right? And I’m good with Irrational promotion… that covers a lot of ground!!

  9. Good information. Lucky me I found your site by accident (stumbleupon).

    I have book-marked it for later!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

