STOP the PRESSES: INCANDESCENT

  I want to celebrate my debut release of my story: INCANDESCENT which will be releasead Monday, August 27, 2012.

Blurb:

Some gifts are unwanted, and Laurie’s Hudson’s affinity for fire is one she hates. It has destroyed her relationship with her family and she has few friends. She’s fought hard to keep the fire inside suppressed, living a low-key life as a bartender, until a brutal and charming man blows into her life.

Around Mikhail Petrov, her careful control disintegrates. She is at once drawn to his urbane, cool demeanor and irritated by his overbearing manner. Her options are taken away when he kidnaps her, forcing her into a fight she wants nothing to do with.

As she learns to survive, Laurie faces the hardest choice of all, her freedom or the destruction of the frustrating man she’s come to care for.

My hero, Mikhail Petrov is a suave and at times a cruel man. He’s forgotten how to care, because for him this emotion brings weakness and he can’t afford to show any. He doesn’t expect Laurie to affect him, but she does and the result changes everything.

I love to write anti-heroes, the ones that are bad, but have their own moral code. They intrigue me, because on the written page I can explore any possibility. Would I like to meet one of my heroes in real life? Probably not. This is why I like fiction. Especially Urban Fantasy, add romance and I am hooked.

As for heroines, Laurie Hudson is a woman who wants a quiet life. She doesn’t think she’s strong, but she is. She has to learn to grow and take responsibility for what she has. Life isn’t fair, but she has to deal with the hand she’s played. I like my heroines to go on a journey–to grow and become stronger. I want them to be determined and at times funny. Most of all I have to relate to them.

Of all the characters I write–the heroines are the ones that I’d like to know–someone I’d meet for coffee or to go shopping (well, that’s iffy, if you know me, I don’t like to shop).  This is a bit different from the hero–someone who makes me uneasy.

Today, I celebrate my characters:  Mikhail and Laurie–two people who shouldn’t be together–but do end up together with explosive results.

I am excited to share this story and I hope you enjoy reading it as much as I did writing it!

Author Bio: M.V. Freeman is a native of Minnesota, but calls North Alabama her home. She is a member of RWA, and the chapters: Georgia Romance Writers, Southern Magic, and Heart of Dixie. By day her mind is filled with medical jargon at the local health clinic, but at night
she finds herself exploring alternate worlds within our own. Heavily influenced by Slavic languages and culture, you will find she weaves these elements into her stories. Her award-winning current story INCANDESCENT is the first in a series. She is currently working on the second book in the series while plotting another project. When she is not writing, she’s reading, cooking, throwing around kettle bells, or making coffee.

You can find me at:

www.mvfreeman.com
my twitter @MVFree

15 Comments

  1. Awesome book. If you enjoyed stories like Twilight this novel is definitely for you. I’m not usually a paranormal reader but I couldn’t put it down. M.V. is a fantastic story weaver. Congratulations on the release of your book.

    Tessa

    • Thanks so much Tessa, it was an honor for me that you read it.! 🙂

  2. So, a Minnesota girl living in Alabama, what’s that like? My friends from Minnesota that live in Illinois are all about snow and cold, how about you? Do you prefer the climate you live in, or the one you came from? I can’t wait to read the book. Your characters sound interesting and the premise, fascinating. Love your cover! Nice job with your post here, too. The best of luck with your career. It’ll be fun to watch where you go from here!

    • Thank you M.J., I appreciate your very kind words!
      As for being from Minnesota–I do miss the definitive seasons-but I don’ t miss the subzero temperatures or the snow up to my eyes. I like where I am at–but I don’t want to go any more south than I am…it’s almost too warm!
      I hope you like the book–I had a lot of fun writing this book.

  3. Congrats on the release MV. And good luck with sales. Authors need a ‘break a leg’ code for good wishes…

    • Lynn, thank you! And I agree…How about–may the words flow? 😉
      You are awesome!

  4. Congratulations, MV. I wish you the best of luck!

    • Thank you very much Marian, I appreciate your kind words! 🙂

  5. I am so excited for you!! It is going to be awesome! Yay!

    Rionna

  6. Reblogged this on Embrace the Shadows and commented:
    I’m happy to celebrate the release of a fellow Crimson author’s book, Incandescent, by the lovely M.V. Freeman. You go, M.V.

  7. Congratulations!

    Your book and I share birthday.
    For what I can see I am in good company.

    • Ah !!! Lovely Carmen–:) And thank you! and Happy Birthday–may it be filled with joy, friends, and celebration. 😉

  8. Congratulations, Mary!!! I’m so excited for you and wish you all the success the world can and will bring!!! I’ve got my copy now and will have to finish my edits before I can read it.

    Oh why, did they both have to arrive at the same time. LOL!!!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

