Meet the Lady in Red… Katherine Bone

1. Introduce yourself, please (name you write under). Hi everybody!  (It’s time to partay! Make sure the rum isn’t gone!)  My name is Katherine Bone and I write Regency & Contemporary romance. After all, who doesn’t want to read about a sexy ne’r-do-well or a hunky aristocrat challenged to protect, respect and cherish the only woman with the power to upset their world? I love stories of Alpha males and heroines driven to the brink of exasperation, characters with wit and verve, and action/adventure stories that satisfy. That’s why I write with an emphasis on Rogues, Rebels and Rakes. My first book is the first in the Nelson’s Tea Series.  Nelson could not go without his tea, but neither could he do without his mercenaries, a group of first sons serving England without detection by his enemies or the ton.  DUKE BY DAY, ROGUE BY NIGHT is a Regency romance set in 1804 and will be an October 29th release at Crimson Romance.

2. Tell us some more about yourself. You want to know about lil old me?  Woot!  My story is fairly simple. My ancestors were Alpha heroes. I was born and raised an Army brat, so it stands to reason my Prince Charming wore a military uniform too. (There’s nothing like a man in uniform, is there?) As a child and commander’s wife, I experienced opportunities I never dreamed possible. As a mother, more often than not, raising four children on her own, I can proudly say I have two sons serving in the Air Force and Army, and two daughters who’ve also fallen in love with men in uniform. These days, Charming and I eagerly await visits from our children and grandsons, though they seem too few and far between for my taste. <g> In the interim, with roots in the south and adventure to be imagined, I cherish Charming and cuddle my Maine Coon, seeing the world through my character’s eyes, one story at a time.

3. What’s your secret passion?  Hmmm… are you sure you really want to know? <g> Okay, I confess I do have quite the thing for Captain Jack Sparrow (Johnny Depp) and the Phantom of the Opera (Gerard Butler). My Maine Coon is even named Christine Daae. (Hey… she was an orphan. 😉

4. Tell us one thing about yourself you’d never change. (Introspection.  Yay!)  I don’t want to change the young woman that lives inside my head. She’s an untamed, goofy girl eager to believe the best in people. The older I get, the more stable and adventurous my inner Kathy becomes. Deep down, I’m still that 19 year old girl expectantly waiting for awesome to happen.

5. If you didn’t live where you do, where would you live?  Woe!  Fabulous questions here on the Lady’s in Red, though I don’t know if I can only pick one. I’ll give this a try. My spirit longs to be standing on the moors with bagpipes echoing on the wind. My heart aches for the English coast, the tall white cliffs of Dover or the waves stripping the rocks at Land’s End. And there is that vixen who’d love to share the Black Pearl with Jack on the crystal seas of the Caribbean while he gazes into his compass and tells me to keep my weathered eye on that horizon.  (Why is the rum always gone? he’ll ask.)

6. Do you write about where you live or where you’d like to live?  I’ve heard over and over again, write what you know. That’s never appealed to me. I love the mystery of a world I can only imagine, heroes and heroines who defy social convention, who are confident enough in themselves to make a stand with integrity and honor. It’s a simple idea really. We are the same people today as we were in the 1800’s. All that has changed are fashion, the political scene, and the landscape. What better way to experience history, then to imagine it!

7. What’s the first creative writing you remember doing outside a class?  Poetry. In 9th grade, one of my Haiku’s was published in our annual yearbook. I’ll never forget how tickled I was it had made the cut. And so, throughout my teens and while raising my family, I continued to write poetry until I built up enough confidence to write my first book.

8. Why do you write romance novels?  I write romance because love is the greatest gift of all. I write romance because while Charming was away on TDY, and I cared for our children alone, I found comfort, companionship, friendship, and the all-encompassing love that bridges both the real and imagined world. Plain and simple, romance novels kept me sane when loneliness had taken its toll. Romance novels helped me deal with the frequent separations Charming and I endured and gave me hope that one day my dearest husband would be back at my side and I would have my happily ever after.

9. What else do you write?  I’ve dabbled in Post Civil War, Paranormal, Western and Native American genres. I’ve also recently completed my first contemporary, LOST TREASURE, CAPTIVE PRINCESS which will be a 2013 Crimson Romance release.

10. What one thing from your book did you take from personal experience?  I think the one thing that stood out for me was the idea of never giving up.  Always remember to be flexible.  You must be able to bend so the wind doesn’t break you.  You must buoy yourself up so the sea doesn’t drown you.

11. Do you identify closely with one particular character? I identify with Lady Constance Danbury the most. She’s a Duke’s daughter who will stop at nothing, including facing her worst fear — drowning — in order to sail to Spain and plead for her Aunt’s assistance in saving her father’s dwindling reputation. As a daughter, sister, mother or friend, I would do anything for those I love.

12. The best part about my writing life is: Getting to live through my characters, of course.  Through them, I get to chase adventure, focus my eye on that imagined horizon, and bask in the knowledge that just over the edge something extraordinary awaits.

13. The worst part about my writing life is:  Here’s where writing gets hard. The worst part of a writer’s life is maintaining a level of confidence. Contests, critiques and relationships gone wrong tend to sap out a writer’s joy. A writer must protect his/her integrity in order to champion his/her imaginative spirit. Remembering this is hard when writers are faced with daily barrages of negativity. Winston Churchill gave the best encouragement to anyone facing defeat. I wear a silver bracelet with his engraved quote on my wrist to remind me every day to “Never, never, never, never, never give up.” If I had given up on Percival Avery or Lady Constance Danbury when everyone told me to, DUKE BY DAY, ROGUE BY NIGHT wouldn’t be a Crimson Romance October release.  (Thank you, Jennifer Lawler and Crimson Romance for believing in me!)

14. Give us a hint about what the next book’s like.  My next book will be the second book in the Nelson’s Tea Series, THE ROGUE’S PRIZE.  The book follows Captain Henry Guffald’s adventures as he meets his match in a female pirate with her own agenda, an agenda in conflict with his own. THE ROGUE’S PRIZE will be a 2013 release.

30 Comments

  1. You have wonderful energy and spark Katherine. I’m not generally a historical romance reader but you’ve intrigued me.

    • Hi Tara!!!! Energy and spark? Oh, that makes my day! And I thought it was just the chocolate frosted Krispy Kreme donuts I ate this morning.

      I’m so glad my post has intrigued you. I love it when that happens!

  2. Love your heros Katherine! and I’m with you about the bagpipes. I’m excited to read your historicals….And contemporary. 🙂

    • M. V.!!!!! You and I both love the same kind of heroes, men who are wounded deep down but continue to fight the great fight…and win, no matter the circumstances.

      Thank you for posting here today, my friend. Wishing you the greatest success with Mikhail and Laurie as Incandescent ignites the world on August 27th!!!

  3. Echoing Tara’s words. As I read your interview I thought, wow, this woman has great energy! I bet that transfers to your writing! I have a little thing for Captain Jack too–funny and sexy.

    • Hi Sharon! (Commencing pirate jig!). A fellow Jack lover. Woot! Just so you know, Jack has a thing for me. He didn’t leave me in Tortuga, which is sayin a great deal. 😉

      I’m so happy you and Tara think I’ve got great energy. I hope you get a chance to read about my duke who masquerades as a pirate and portrays the fop by day. His antics shouldn’t disappoint. 😉

  4. So nice to meet you, Katherine!

    • Hi Berinn!!! Great to meet you too. I love your name! I’m fascinated by name origins and choose them carefully for my characters. Can you tell me more about your name?

  5. Katherine, I love love love historical romance and simply cannot wait to read these books. I’m so excited for you!

    • Hi Callie!!! Yay!!! My Southern Magic bud! Thanks for posting today. I’m so happy to hear you love reading historicals. I never knew that about you. Thank you for wanting to read my books. I hope you grow to like my characters as much as I do. Blessings!!!

      • Historicals are actually my favorite romance to read. You would think I would write them but I no. Your characters sound amazing. I’m really looking forward to it.

  6. The worst part of a writer’s life is maintaining a level of confidence. Contests, critiques and relationships gone wrong tend to sap out a writer’s joy. A writer must protect his/her integrity in order to champion his/her imaginative spirit.

    So true. Thank you for reminding us of Churchil’s quote.
    Writing is a lonely and tough business, it feels good to connect with others Ladies in Red.
    Best of luck with your release, Katherine.

    • Hi Carmen!!!! Thank you for your wonderful comments! It means so much to me that you’re comforted by my post. Check out more of Churchill’s quotes. No greater motivator exists!!! That man galvanized a nation and helped solidify England’s indomitable spirit. (Of course, the monarchy helped do that as well, with extraordinary poise and courage.).

      Never forget to write from the gut. I blogged about freeing your inner tiger yesterday at: http://www.okaylistenhere.blogspot.com. I hope you’ll check that out. Blessings!!!

  7. Hi, Katherine! I loved all your answers, especially #4. I feel like I have the same girl in my head, but mine’s about 24, LOL! Thanks for a great interview, and I wish you all the best in your writing career!!!!

    XOXO

    • Hi Kieran!!! Thanks for posting! 😉

      Looks like our youthful, inner Kathy and Kieran would get along great!!! So glad to meet another Regency author with the same phenomenal affliction. Lol!

      Thank you for your well wishes! They mean the world to me!!!

  8. Fantastic interview! I can’t wait to get my hands on your debut!

    • Hi Heather!!! Aw, I’m glad you liked my interview. I had to censure it a bit. That inner 19 year old cheerleader loves exclamation points. .

      Thank you for being excited about my debut book. I sincerely hope you like it!!! Blessings!!

  9. Hi, Katherine! I’m so excited for you and can’t wait to read your book. Totally go bonkers for Alpha males. And how could one possibly not have a thing for scoundrel Jack Sparrow?
    You’re so positive and encouraging. Thanks for that. Writing is definitely not for the faint of heart.

    • Hi Jo! You’re so right! We don’t have to look twice. We know what a wickedly charming man Jack can be and we approve of his scoundrel ways. 😉

      Thank you for your kind comments too, Jo. There’s more than enough negativity in the world, isn’t there? Writing is a lonely business, except for the voices of our characters, of course. It does us good to remember that we’re all in this together. Come rain and high water, we need to hang in there each and every day. So keep plugging away at that keyboard. Bring your stories to life so that we can live them through you!

  10. Hi Kathy! Fun interview. I think you could write a book on staying young at heart 🙂

    • Moriah!!! I’m so glad you stopped by. You’re so very kind too! Hey, instead of writing a book on staying young, let’s all do a moon walk or guest spot on So You Think You Can Dance. The key is remembering one of the best memories you’ve ever had and then putting that memory to dance. Come on.. let’s go!

      Snoopy Dancing… (cue Snoopy music) Disco Dancing… (cue BeeJees) Belly Dancing… (expose belly ring) Regency Dancing… (cue Darcy and Elizabeth!)

  11. Hi, Katherine! I have that same Winston Churchill quote on a magnet stuck on my fridge. It has seen me through to publication, (or almost, Oct. 15th is my release date). Another one I like when I’m down on myself is this: “Be gentle with yourself. You are a child of the universe, no less than the trees and stars. In the noisy confusion of life, keep peace in your soul.” – Max Ehrmann. Beautiful, isn’t it? And I’m gonna leave you with one more, (’cause I guess I’m in that kind of mood): “You are unrepeatable. There is a magic about you that is all your own…”-D.M. Dellinger. I guess when you look at it that way, we kind of owe the universe our talent; there is no one else who can give it that. Thank you for sharing your special magic with us here, and good luck with your writing!

    • I have special magic? Who knew? Oh, we are kindred souls, M.J.! Thank you for sharing the extra inspirational quotes. I’m going to add those to my desk top. I love being surrounded with positive affirmation. There’s no greater boost to the muse and no greater boon to the soul.

      We’re release month buddies? Fantastic!!! I’m so excited for you!!! Wishing you all the greatest success with your book release and may this journey we both travel be one of phenomenal surprises! Blessings!!

  12. Figured it’d be Captain Jack, didn’t know about Gerard Butler–both favorites of mine! Yes, I can definitely see you inner Katherine and you are that 19-year-old! Great post! Can’t wait for your book to come out.

    • Pat!!!! (waving) Another kindred spirit!!! So happy you stopped by today. Thank you for sharing this blog post with me!

      You’re a doll, fantastic artist and a great writer too! I do believe I spy a bit of a young whippersnapper inside you , Pat. Mayhap you, me, Jo and Sharon can figure out a way to share Jack… Or maybe I’ll keep him all to myself. Muahahaha!

  13. Wonderful interview, Kathy! I’m certainly there with you regarding Captain Jack Sparrow. As for Percy and Constance, they have a treasured place in my heart.

    • I’m so glad you liked my interview, Crystal! And you do know Percy and Constance well. Everyone else will know them to, in part thanks to you. Woot!!!

  14. You have a Miane Coon? My best friend’s daughter just got one. He’s a terror, but so, so cute. I assume your cat rules the house. Nice to get to know you, Katherine. As I’ve mentioned before, you have one of the most beautiful websites I’ve ever seen.

    • Hi Susan!!! Thank you so much for the shout out about my website. My darling daughter #2 designed it for me. She’s a fabulously talented graphic artist. Woo-hoo!

      I love my Maine Coon cat. Though she is a Queen, she’s the best, a gentle, loving creature. She’s my little fluff ball, though handsome son #2 calls her Fuzz Ball.

      Again, thank you for posting, Susan!!! Blessings!

      • After what Susan said, I had to go out and check out your website. Your daughter did do a great job! I had my daughter design my website, too. She’s seventeen and I was blown away by what she came up with. It’s amazing what they know that you don’t know they know, you know? ( : Anyway, very professional-looking!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

