Meet the Ladies in Red ~ Erin Richards

Hello! I’m Erin Richards both in real life and on the written page. I agonized over the idea of using a pen name for so long that practicality finally did me in. Erin Richards is who I am and whom I want my readers to identify with. Plus, it’s easy to spell and pronounce, and much easier for marketing and promotional purposes to deal with one name!

Let’s get the details out of the way:

Single, married, divorced, widowed? Divorced and loving the single life (as much as I love a happily ever after!)

Living Where? Northern California.

Doing what, other than writing? During the day, I draft and negotiate high technology contracts for a multinational corporation. You can see why I pen fiction at nights and on the weekends!

One—just one—physical characteristic: Long natural fingernails…everyone thinks they’re fake.

What’s your secret passion?  Writing fiction. Secret no more. Tell everyone! I dare you.

If you didn’t live where you do, where would you live? Why?

Along the California coast. I love the beaches, the booming surf, the curling waves, and the crisp sea air!

Do you write about where you live or where you’d like to live?

My contemporary/urban fantasy stories usually take place in California somewhere. However, Wicked Paradise is set on a tropical island with plenty of beaches! I wanted its setting to be a total escape from reality. I’ve recently written a contemporary young adult novel (tentatively titled Vigilante Nights) that takes place in a fictional California seaside town. I’d love to live in either locale! Just not with demons plaguing me!

What’s the first creative writing you remember doing outside a class?

I wrote short stories as a child for fun. Really. Yeah, I was weird like that. My friends were out playing, while I holed up in my bedroom creating stories. My most memorable project was a novel I wrote when I was 18 entitled San Jose Turf. I had never forgotten that story (even though it was horribly, horribly written). A couple of years ago, I dug it out of a box buried underneath my stairs and decided to rewrite it. I couldn’t do it! But several plot elements and characters ended up in Vigilante Nights.

Why do you write romance novels?

To find that happily ever after in a minefield of mayhem, murder and magic! I wanted my readers not only to find their escape within my worlds, but also to see that love abounds in various circumstances. A happily ever after is not elusive in real life. It may take hard work and dodging a stray bullet or a demon, but I like to think my characters give my readers hope.

What else do you write?

Other than YA contemporary as mentioned above, I write SF&F in various sub-genres. Everything I write is either a romance or has romantic elements. There is no better ending to a story than having two people wade through that minefield and find something they didn’t know they were looking for—love.

What one thing from your book did you take from personal experience?

The story is fantasy and totally from my imagination! However, when I conceived the book, a couple of lines from an old favorite song, “Hotel California” triggered the concept of the island paradise. “This could be heaven or this could be hell” and “you can check-out anytime you like, but you can never leave” instantly put the idea in my head about a deserted and unchartered island, and a colony of desperate people who were destined to live on the island…but had yet to find the paradise and the love they so craved. I had to give them a reason to want to stay… so Wicked Paradise was born.

Do you identify closely with one particular character? How?

Although both my characters have a desire to live life their own way rather than march to the drum of others which I can relate to, I identified with Ryan more so than my heroine, mainly because he’s from the 21st century, whereas Morgan’s from medieval Avalon. I think it’s his stubbornness, too!

The best part about my writing life is:

It gives me a creative outlet to an otherwise mundane life! I love to give a voice to the worlds in my head, to disappear into these worlds and become my characters just for a while. I’ll never forget a day I was writing my 2nd romance from the 3rd person POV, and all of a sudden I found I had written several pages from the first person POV. I had lost myself in my writing so much that I had become my character! Scary stuff.

The worst part about my writing life is:

Not having enough time to write is my biggest pet peeve. Beyond that, it’s the promotion. I’m an introvert (one wouldn’t think so from someone who negotiates contracts for a living), and I really have to break out of my shell for promotional efforts and social media.

Give us a hint about  the book you’re currently working on.

I’m currently revising a paranormal romance…

A witch—who sees imprints in shadows—investigates the suspicious death of her father, and learns more than she bargained for when her true powers emerge…especially when confronted with the motorcycle-riding, off-limits warlock her father hired to protect her from the shadows that want to possess her.

Wicked Paradise is my second published novel and will be released on August 13 from Crimson Romance.

Image

Balanced between the future and the past lies a pre-utopian paradise that may be mankind’s last hope for survival. Yet the island hides a sinister secret…a fearsome demon from ancient Ireland is imprisoned there and it’s about to escape to the twenty-first century.

Desperate to save a future post-apocalyptic world from total destruction, sorcerers send the most powerful sorceress from medieval times, Morgan of the Druids, through time to an island prison to kill WindWraith, the long-imprisoned Fomorian demon.

After a deadly squall tosses Druid-assassin Ryan O’Rourke into the Pacific Ocean, he washes ashore on an unchartered island brimming with magic. Ryan’s determined to find a way to return to Earth’s wasteland to battle the resurrected Fomorians plaguing the dwindling human race. When he stumbles across the enchantress who tantalizes his dreams to the point of madness, his plans turn upside down. For she stirs in him a hunger that puts his life’s purpose at risk.

Morgan has no choice but to kill the Fomorian before it kills her. But Ryan has other plans for the demon . . . Now Morgan and Ryan must decide between love and duty in a perilous race against the evil that could destroy Earth.

I’m also super excited to announce that my first novel Chasing Shadows, a paranormal romantic suspense, was released in print for the first time on July 16!

Thank you for stopping by!

To read more about Erin and her books, please visit her online at:

Web:  http://www.erinrichards.com
Blog:  http://erinrichards.blogspot.com
Facebook:  http://www.facebook.com/ErinRichards.Author (Please “like” Erin’s Fan Page)
Goodreads:  http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/2994743.Erin_Richards
Twitter:  @erinrichards

16 Comments

  1. You, mundane? I highly doubt it. And I just know that your stunning novel is going to leave everyone wanting more. Good thing you have other installments on the horizon. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Great interview, Erin! Love the part of you switching from the 3rd to 1st person unwittingly. Best wishes with your book release on Monday!

  3. Congratulations with your print book! It must be a thrill to see it on the shelves. Thanks for sharing about yourself, Erin, and for all the help you’ve been to the Crimson Ladies.

  4. Your real name is better than any pen name you could have conjured, Erin. Loved your post and getting to know you better. And the book cover for Wicked Paradise is gorgeous!

  5. Great interview, Erin. We already know you’re the greatest so let me just say Wicked Paradise is a love story to die for!! Loved it!

  6. You ladies are awesome! Thank you so much! I love the Crimson family and am so pleased to be amongst you.

  7. Love a good shadow mystery. Looking forward to your book release.

  8. I sure like your cover, Erin. You can type with long nails? 🙂 Lovely post. It’s been fun learning about the Ladies in Red.
    -R.T. Wolfe
    http://www.rtwolfe.com
    Black Creek Burning, September 24, 2012

  9. I loved how you related the lyrics to Hotel California so perfectly with your story especially the heaven and hell part. Great interview!

  10. Great interview, Erin! I too need to write fiction to escape the hum drum of a day job–mine in local government. I like paranormal, and look foward to reading your book.

  11. Loved this, Erin! Isn’t it amazing how a song or few words trigger an idea 🙂 ? Tweeted this great article!

  12. Erin, I loved learning more about you! And your nails! How in the world can you type? You’ll have to let me in on your secret. 🙂 May you have great luck and oodles of sales with WICKED PARADISE!

  13. Great interview. I loved learning about you and your book. Best of luck with Wicked Paradise, sounds awesome.

  14. Cool interview, Erin! Wicked Paradise sounds awesome. Congratulations!

  15. Great to see your interview on here, Erin!!

  16. Thank you all for visiting and learning a bit about me, and for all the warm wishes! Aw, yes…the fingernails had to be trimmed a little today. Typing was getting harder!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

