Summer Heat!

Summer is officially upon us and I don’t know about you, but things are heating up around here. The mercury is rising and the humidity makes it feel like you’re sitting in warm soup when you’re outside… It’s fun!

To beat the heat, I love taking the kids to the community pool and cooling off in the water that is always as frigid as a tall glass of iced tea. Sometimes I prefer to crank the air conditioner and curl up on the couch in the dark basement with my family and watch a movie.

But I think my most favorite thing to do is sit on my back deck in the shade of the umbrella with my kindle fully charged—loaded with smokin’ hot romances, of course!—and a giant frozen strawberry lime margarita to sip on. I’ve already stocked my kindle for the summer with hot new Crimson Romances, an early review copy of my upcoming release Falling for You (releasing Aug 20th from Crimson Romance!) and a few of my favorite author’s new releases. I can hardly wait for the next hot, lazy summer day!

Does life get any better?

So tell me, what’s your favorite way to beat the heat this summer?

If you need me, I’ll be poolside with a hottie—I mean perfectly respectable hero—on my kindle, soaking up the rays…

Maybe it’s best not to need me for the summer… 😉

Heather Thurmeier

“Heather Thurmeier’s hunky heroes and feisty heroines will have you laughing out loud, falling in love … and coming back for more!” ~ Carly Phillips, NY Times Bestselling Author

Website: http://heatherthurmeier.com

Twitter: hthurmeier

Facebook: HeatherThurmeier,Author

Multi-published author of contemporary romance

Author of:

Meadow Ridge Romance series

Bunny Hills and Bikinis

Falling for You, Stuck with You, Lost without You ~ Coming soon from Crimson Romance!

Heather Thurmeier was born and raised in the Canadian prairies, but now she lives in upstate New York with her own personal romance Hero (aka her husband) and their two little princesses. When she’s not busy taking care of the kids and an adventurous puppy named Indy, Heather’s hard at work on her next romance novel. She loves to hear from readers. Heart, humor, and a happily ever after.

13 Comments

  1. I actually wrote about one of our favorite chill down activities in Caution: Filling is Hot. Sprinkler badminton! Fun and refreshing – with lots of drink breaks and the music cranked up. Or we can go to one of the nearby lakes to swim.

    • Tara, I just read that part in your book today. LOVED it! I was thinking about it when our temperature hit 99 this afternoon!

  2. Hi Tara, I’ve never heard of sprinkler badminton, but it sounds like fun! I’ll have to check out your book (great title by the way!) to find out more!

  3. You hit the nail on the head, curling up with a hot romance is great in the summer. Also good in the fall, winter or spring 🙂

    • Romance is great all year round!

  4. After last summer’s heat wave (110+ on our porch day after day), this year has been ‘mild’ and ‘cool’ in Texas (mostly 90s). We re-claimed our porch and have spent several evenings under the fans with friends, food and cocktails. Nothing like cool company to beat the heat!

    • Your porch sounds like heaven, Irene! I love sitting on our deck with the family. So fun and relaxing. Even right now, I’m out here typing and the kids are on a blanket in the shade playing and having a picnic lunch. Heaven.

  5. You know it’s hot when your pets opt to sleep on the floor rather than trying to get into bed with you. (Although 40+ lbs of cats is better than an electric blanket in the winter!) My book, Love’s Little Instruction Book, is due out from Crimson on August 20th as well. Are you counting the days? (It’s 46 more days!)

  6. I’ve been staying inside in the a/c. It was 90 when I left my ac car this morning, and 118 according to the car when I cam back.

    I like fall.

  7. I’m with you, Heather. I don’t think it gets much better than summer sun, hot heroes and margaritas.

    Although, Irene’s porch with the fans blowing overhead sounds pretty good too. Maybe we should bring the margaritas to Irene’s!

  8. Mojito’s too? Heat up the garden, leave me in the shade! Nice article, Heather. Thanks

  9. I beat the heat late this morning and sat in the backyard reading a great Crimson romance on my Kindle. I was pre-tanning for my annual beach vacation that starts in 1 week. Margaritas are definitely on the agenda. Best way to beat the heat…

  10. Swimming or sitting in the shade with a tall, iced glass of anything…having a hottie nearby for the eyes, definitely helps take my mind off the heat 😉


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

