Meet the Ladies in Red: Berinn Rae

Welcome paranormal romance author Berinn Rae to today’s Ladies in Red blog.

Thanks for having me! I write romantic SciFi/Fantasy under the name Berinn Rae. I chose to use a pen name to help separate my writing life from my aviation life, since the two are quite different. Berinn (pronounced “Baron”) is an old Germanic word that is pronounced exactly like a type of airplane I own, and Rae is simply my middle name.

 

Let’s get the details out of the way:

My furry co-pilot.

I’m married to a wonderfully supportive man, and we have an incredibly spoiled sixty-pound lap dog named Annabelle. We live in the Midwest (Iowa) where we fly old airplanes, mostly World War II warbirds, and of course, cater to our attention-craving fur ball. 

Why do you write romance novels?

I’m a sucker for the HEA (Happily Ever After). Life’s tough enough the way it is. I like to read to escape, and I write what I enjoy reading. As a kid, I was an avid comic book reader. That obsession moved into SciFi/Fantasy novels, then eventually into paranormal romance and urban fantasy. When I’m not writing, I read every chance I get.

Reading after an afternoon flight

The best part about my writing life is:

The freedom. As an incurable daydreamer, writing became my creative outlet. As new ideas simmer and pour onto the page, my stress steams away. Now, I couldn’t imagine not writing.

The worst part about my writing life is:

The time, well, the lack of time sucks. Like most writers, I need a day job to pay the bills. It can become an exhausting challenge balancing the day job, family, friends, and hobbies. But it’s worth it.

Give us a hint about your next book.

I’m so excited to have the first novel in a new alien romance trilogy published by Crimson Romance! Collision comes out July 30. Edits are finished, and I’m anxiously awaiting my first glimpse at the cover art.

The Colliding Worlds trilogy starts with two alien races coming to current day earth: one for domination, the other for freedom. Each book in the trilogy stars an extraordinary woman caught up in a galactic war… oh, and of course each woman gets her guy!

Here’s the blurb for Collision:

Sienna Wolfe knows it’s going to be an interesting day when a man with golden skin and strange tattoos crashes in her backyard… and ends up tied to her bedposts. She likes her life just the way it is – simple, easy, relaxed. But when the gorgeous new alien in her life asks for her help in an inter-galactic war on a collision course with earth, she can’t say no… but she’ll soon wish she had.

Sienna struggles with her new, unpredictable world, which includes trying to protect earth from alien domination and dodging attempts on her life. And to make matters worse, her greatest enemy – with annoyingly good looks – offers her a double-edged proposal to end the war. All she has to do is give up her freedom and turn her back on the love of her life. Now it’s up to Sienna to pull off the impossible: save the world and – hopefully – live a little happily ever after.

Heat Level: Sensual

 

For a special sneak peek of Collision before its July 30 release, read the first chapter on my website. Enjoy!

 

~ Berinn

www.BerinnRae.com   –   women with kickassitude

Berinn’s books are available everywhere eBooks are sold. Visit her website or Amazon for a current booklist and to buy titles.

37 Comments

  1. Yay Berinn! I’m actually just reading it now =)

  2. How exciting to fly old planes, Berinn! In my early twenties, I wanted to fly, I even went to ground school, but circumstances grounded me. I’ll have to fly through you!
    Colliding Worlds sounds like an exciting read!

    • Thanks, Sharon! Wish you could have gotten the chance to finish getting your license, Sharon. It’s never too late!

  3. What a fun life flying old planes! I love SF romance and can’t wait to read Collision.

  4. I agree with you about the Happily-Ever-Afters. With life being so hectic these days, I gravitate toward books and authors who deliver the HEA time and time again. Great post and so nice to find out more about you!

  5. Nice to meet you! How fun to fly the old planes, and with such a cute furry co-pilot.
    Love the concept of your book and I look forward to reading it.

    • Thanks, Diane! Yes, Annabelle is quite the fur ball, but she loves flying!

  6. Great Post Berinn,

    Since Crimson is a red color, I will be associating you as the Red Berinn from now on. I love your comment about the stress steaming away when you write. Its really the best description

    Tessa

    • Tessa – So funny, but my hubs and I bought a bonafide Red Baron airplane right before I came up with pen name… and that’s how I ended up with “Berinn”!

  7. Loved your introduction, Berrin Rae. I have to admit that I’ve been wondering how you pronounced your name. lol. Now I know. 🙂

    • You’re not alone, Nikkie! After my first couple cons, I realized I could’ve found a different spelling to make the name easier to pronounce!

      • Where’s the fun in that? lol. It’s a great name! 🙂

  8. Hi Berrin – airplanes and aliens – you sound so interesting! My dad was an avid pilot and I spent a lot of my youth around small airports (loved it). I’m headed over to check out your free chapter now!

    • Thanks so much for stopping by, Irene. So you easily understand the addictions involved with flying!

  9. I love airplanes – the older the better. So cool that you get to fly them!

    • Thanks, Kristina! I’m very fortunate, and it takes a ton of work to keep them going, but so very worth it!

  10. Great to meet you, Berrin! You sound like a heroine after my own heart, a sci-fi/fantasy writer to boot! Love your concept, can’t wait to see your cover and dive into your imagination. Thank you!

    • Thanks for stopping by, Pam! Crimson Romance has pulled together such a great, diverse group of women. I’m looking forward to reading Smitten Image!

  11. So cool, you’re the Red Berrin! I come from a family of fliers, too, and recently made a short film about experimental aircraft called SOLO. Check it out at http://www.flysolofilm.com. When the movie’s finished, I’ll be hitting up some air shows, so we’ll have to keep in touch. Congrats on Collision and sunny skies for the rest of the trilogy!

    • Wow, now that is very cool, Lisa! Hopefully we can hook up at an air show this year (maybe Oshkosh?). Nice website, too! Looks like RVs, which are an impressive aircraft!

  12. How exciting Berinn, another great Crimson sister!!!

  13. Berinn,

    I knew you were awesome the first second I met you! I am so happy to learn all these great tidbits about your life. I wish you all the luck in the world!

    All the Best, dear friend.
    Rionna

    • Rionna – you are too, too sweet! Thanks so much for the kind words, and I wish you all the best, too – not that you need it, you’ll do awesome!

  14. How cool is it that you fly! Great interview!

  15. Very unique! It sounds like it will keep my eyes glued to the end 🙂
    Can’t wait! Your history in flying sounds fascinating. What sparked your interest?

    • Thanks, Kay! As for aviation, I’ve always had the bug, but it wasn’t until I met my hubs that I entered into the world. And just like writing, I’ve never looked back!

  16. This was such a fun post! My 10 year old son is obsessed with flying and I showed him the picture you posted here; he thought it was so cool. Thanks, Berrin.

    • Thanks for stopping by, Ines. And, I hope your son stays obsessed with flying… it brings such a sense of freedom!

  17. Love the furry co-pilot, Berinn!! And the pen name!!

  18. Congrats on the series. I’m so impressed with the airplane. You’re kind of like my favorite hero in Illusions.

    • Thanks, Lynn! And I wish you all the best with your release!!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

