Sharon Clare – author of Love of Her Lives available Aug. 6/12

I am thrilled to be one of Crimson Romance’s Ladies in Red and to be welcomed into this group of wonderfully warm and supportive writers. Jennifer Lawler and the enthusiastic, supportive and professional staff at Crimson make me feel like I’m in the very best hands.

Let me introduce myself—Sharon Clare—which is my pen name, a name I decided on because the domain was available for Clare. That’s it. I wish there was more meaning behind it, but every other name I’d originally wanted was taken, so Sharon Clare I became.

I’ve been married a long time and have three wonderful grown-up kids, two daughters and a son. I’ve loved every stage of their lives, especially seeing them grow into interesting, loving, happy people.

I live in Mississauga, Ontario, Canada where we especially love summer!

Other than writing I work for a personnel agency which isn’t very exciting, but I used to take a life-sized blue whale into schools when I taught science workshops.

One notable physical characteristic would be my blonde hair I suppose, a colour I have to pay for now, but I imagine I’ll always be a blonde.

My secret passion is not really a secret, but it’s fairly rare, I think. I belong to a virtual world where I have an avatar. I have no idea why it’s so much fun. I guess I didn’t get enough Barbie time as a kid. It’s a fun, creative place to play.

One thing about myself that I’d never change is what I believe is an ability to get along well with others.

For the most part, I write about where I live or at least where I’ve been. The only exception is a few chapters in my soon to be released novel Love of Her Lives that take place in Scotland. I watched travel videos and read books and spoke virtually with people in Scotland to get my facts straight—I hope.

One reason I write romance novels is because I get to put my psychology degree to use, somewhat. I love the psychology of relationships, the inner conflicts, the emotional highs and lows and the struggle to overcome self-defeating behaviours, things that create tension in relationships. As authors, we have to live with our characters, so I may as well have a hot hero in my head. There are so many sub-genres to work with and ultimately romance feels good.

Along with my whimsical paranormal novel, I’ve also written a historical novel.

One thing I took from my personal experience for my book was an experience I had during a past life regression session I did for fun. During hypnosis, I got a feel for Calum, the sexy spirit guide hero in my novel, for the way he would love a woman.

I had to cut a third of the manuscript to fit Crimson Romance’s word requirement, so the process did feel a bit like severing body parts. One night, I went to bed knowing the next day I would cut an entire chapter. I decided to do it without looking at one word, just highlight fast and delete. I think that chapter may find its way onto my website as a deleted scene.

The best part of writing is when the characters do the story telling for me. The worse part is not having enough hours in the day to write.

My next books will be based on games. The mischievous elf from Love of Her Lives will continue with his match-making. Rhapsody is based on a sensual board game a couple must play to escape the Elvin world where they are trapped. Race Date is like a dating amazing race where the heroine realizes she’s partnered with the man whose life she destroyed in high school. I also plan to write a third also based on some sort of game, perhaps virtual. Who knows what that elf will conjure up!

Thank you so much to Crimson Romance for organizing this virtual meeting place! Please come visit me at sharonclare.com and Romance and Beyond

30 Comments

  1. Very cool, Sharon. Think I can get your mischievous elf to spice up my love life? Being a single parent of two and an author with a day job doesn’t leave much time for dating.

    • Thanks for visiting, Alison! I will send Finn your way with a warning to be kind. He does like to be entertained and tends to turn the table unexpectedly.

      I don’t know how you are so prolific with everything you have on your plate, Alison, and congratulations on you second book release! No doubt you’re working on your third. Very best of luck!

  2. HI Sharon,
    I feel your pain on cutting scenes. Welcome to the Ladies in Red. You really have your hands full. I’m glad you can let your inner muse spring forward. Crimson is very lucky to have you.

    • Thank you so kindly, Tessa. I’m loving it here at Crimson. I’ve heard a few stories from authors who didn’t have a happy publishing experience. On the contrary, Crimson Romance has been wonderful and I feel lucky to have them too!

  3. Sharon, having a front row seat to your creativity for the last… 4 years? 5? I’ve seen it manifest in many ways. Your novels, your teaching, your family, your garden, your friendships. Knowing you, I know your creativity is fuelled both by passion, fun, and a sparkling intelligence!

    So proud of you, and so thrilled for you, my friend.

    Look out, Crimson, Sharon Clare is here to Rock your Rosebuds!

    • Sherry, your words are so kind, thank you! I’m so grateful to be on this journey with you! You are a master Storyteller!!

      Rock your Rosebuds – so cute!

  4. Congratulations, Sharon, on your upcoming publication with Crimson Romance. As a fellow member of our tri-weekly Tims Novel Group I’ve witnessed the growth and evolution of the “Love of Her Lives” story from its early idea stage. Our group followed you with avid interest as you began the round of publishers and survived the ordeal of the thousand editing cuts. Can’t wait to read the book in its final incarnation. And find out what an ebook launch looks like.

    • Linda, thank you so much for your ongoing support. Love of Her Lives would be nowhere without my critique partners. Your comments are always thought provoking and so often provide the clarity readers would no doubt need. (See you next Wed.!)

  5. Hi Sharon – what a great intro you have given us! Yes, please DO post your deleted chapter somewhere for us. We will all look forward to reading it!

    • Thank you, Irene! So nice to have such wonderful encouragement! I will get it posted soon. It was such fun to write!

  6. I’ll echo Irene’s support for your posting that deleted chapter! And yours for how lucky I feel to have landed in the middle of such an interesting group of writers.

    • Thank you, Peggy! I feel the same way. We are so lucky to be surrounded by such diverse writers!

  7. So proud of you and excited for your book launch. As a critique group buddy for a few years, I’ve learned so much from you. Especially about romance and conflict and writing with passion. Congratulations and enjoy the ride!! I can’t wait to download that book onto my Kindle.

    • Aw, thank you, Urve! I’m feeling so very grateful for all the wonderful friends, old and new, who are part of this journey. I can’t wait to buy your new YA novel too! It’s an amazing story!

  8. Hi, Sharon. It’s nice to have a Canadian connection here on Crimson Romace. We’ll both be launching books on the same day. I understand all about chopping words. I deleted the first three chapters of Stubborn Hearts to get to the meat of the story faster. Best wishes for Love of Her Lives. (Great title, by the way!)

  9. It is nice to have that Canadian connection! I’m glad to know we have our releases on the same day. We’ll have to have a virtual party with the other release authors!

    Good call deleting some of those beginning chapters. I cut one as well when I released I had two chapters doing the same thing. Looking forward to reading Stubborn Hearts!

  10. Great getting to know you better, Sharon! I love getting a “behind the scenes” peek at who we are as writers. We’re all so different, yet driven by the same creative desires. So much fun to be on this ride with you. Let’s do it more often!!

    • I’m with you, Pam. It’s a great platform to get to know everyone and introduce ourselves. It’s wonderful to share our writing passion with so many like-minded people. What a fabulous group of people we have here at Crimson!

  11. Sharon, your books sound fascinating. Must Read. I was once 30 miles away from the Canadian border. LOL

    • Thank you, Lynn. I think so too 🙂 Canada is a beautiful place to visit (more so in the summer). If you’re ever 30 miles away from the Niagara Falls border, give me a shout. We’ll have to do lunch!

      • Niagra Falls is one of my bucket list places, so be expecting a call. LOL

  12. Sharon, what a wondeful blog. Congrats on the contract! Looking forward to this path. It’s great being with you and the the other Crimson ladies.
    Best wishes!
    Tere

    • Thanks for visiting, Tereasa! This is a wonderful group of ladies. I feel blessed to have connected with them all. You’re going to love Crimson!

  13. Hi Sharon, love the title of your book, can’t wait to read it and thanks for sharing!

    • Thank you, Heather. It was such a fun book to write, especially Calum. I had such a good sense of him!

  14. Great article! Your muse is working hard for you 😉

  15. Hi Sharon. Finally catching up on these interviews. Wow, you create such interesting worlds that I can not even fathom. Congratulations!

  16. Aw, thank you so very kindly, Lisa!

  17. Hi Sharon, fantastic interview! Love your picture!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

