Alicia Dean – Author of Soul Seducer

Introduce yourself, please (name you write under). Is this a pen or personal name? Why did you make the choice to write under that name?

I’m Alicia Dean. This is a pen name, but ‘Alicia’ is a variation of my real first name, Alice, and ‘Dean’ was my father’s first name. He passed away in ’94 before I was published. He knew about my dream and would have been so thrilled to see it come true. I chose my pen name as a tribute to him.

2. Let’s get the details out of the way:

Single, married, divorced, widowed?

Happily divorced for almost 17 years. Still friendly with ex, though.

Parent?

Proud parent of two beautiful daughters, Lana and Lacey, and a handsome, wonderful son, Presley. They’re all grown now, but we spend a lot of time together and I love it.

Living where?

Edmond, Oklahoma

Doing what, other than writing?

I’m a legal assistant for a family law firm.

One—just one—physical characteristic:

Dark hair and eyes. (Have to color the grey to keep the hair ‘dark’ <g>)

3. What’s your secret passion?

None of my passions are secret. I share them all. (Elvis fan, MLB, NFL, Vampire Diaries, True Blood, Dexter, Justified, etc)

4. Tell us one thing about yourself you’d never change.

My closeness with family and friends.

5. If you didn’t live where you do, where would you live? Why?

I’d live somewhere cold, because I love winter.

6. Do you write about where you live or where you’d like to live?

Mostly where I live or have lived.

7. What’s the first creative writing you remember doing outside a class?

I wrote a romance when I was about 11. The hero looked just like Elvis Presley, which was actually how I described him. :-)  I still have that story.

8. Why do you write romance novels?

They have a happy ending, and people love to read them.

9. What else do you write?

Suspense/mystery with just a hint of romance.

10. What one thing from your book did you take from personal experience?

My heroine’s love of baseball and Elvis music.

11. What did you cut from your book that felt like severing a body part?

Scenes from my serial killer’s POV.

12. Do you identify closely with one particular character? How?

Not particularly, but I would LOVE to identify closely with Audra. Dimitri is a hottie bad boy. :-)

13. The best part about my writing life is:

Hearing back from readers. Whether they liked my book(s) or didn’t, it’s a thrill to realize that complete strangers are reading something I created.

14. The worst part about my writing life is:

Not having NEAR enough time to write.

15. Give us a hint about what the next book’s like.

I’m working on a sequel to Soul Seducer, featuring my heroine’s best friend, Riley.

34 Comments

  1. Hey Alicia! I adore your children’s names! Best to you and Soul Seducer!

    • Thank you, Darcy. I appreciate the compliment and the well wishes. You’re a sweetheart!

  2. It’s nice to meet you, Alicia. Maybe we can get together for a drink sometime. I live in Edmond too!

    • My, Kathy. What a small world. That would be wonderful. Do you drink? If so, yes, we should definitely get together sometime.

    • LOL, Silver. You know, as it turns out, we’re getting together for a drink this very evening!

  3. Loved learning these little gems. Makes me excited to read your books Alicia 🙂

    • Thank you, Candice. I hope my books don’t disappoint. 🙂 I appreciate you stopping by!

  4. Great interview, Alicia. What fun! This might show up under hubby’s blogsite — I have a difficult time with WordPress.

    • LOL, Jessica. That’s okay. At least you showed up. I am starting to get used to WordPress, and I really like it. Thanks for stopping by!

  5. Awesome interview! I love that you wrote a romance when you were 11, but the hero looking like Elvis makes it a total win! LOVE! You should publish it on your website for fun!

    • Thank you, Denise. Glad you enjoyed it. And, I’m VERY glad someone as young as you likes Elvis. 🙂 I thought about publishing the story for fun, but it’s written in pencil and parts of it are hard to make out. And reading it is almost painful, LOL.

  6. I knew you were a good addition to the Three Kings series we did in 2010. If any one gets the chance, please read A Knight before Christmas. Alice really has a way with romantic suspense, add a bit of snow and spice. It’s a dynamite combination. I suspect all her books have the same quality of heat and a happy ever after. Keep up the good work.

    • Hy Dyann,

      Thanks for the kind words. I LOVED doing that series with you and Claire. So different to work with other authors and coordinate our stories and have our characters interact. It was tough to make it all come together with the timeline, the same scenes from different perspectives, etc, but it worked out well. That was a blast. Your story, A Perfect Bride for Christmas, was a superb story to kick off the series.

  7. Hi, Alicia! I’m so excited about your latest book. I thoroughly enjoyed SOUL SEDUCER and I’m glad it found a home with Crimson.

  8. I’m a fan…no matter what kind of book your incredible imagination brings forth next! You are a fantastic writer, and a great source of inspiration to me–relax, I’m not going to write you into my novel…I mean a source of inspiration for my life! Love ya!
    Anna

  9. Awww, Anna. You’re the sweetest little thing ever! I’m so happy you think of me as an inspiration. You might be my first. 🙂 Feel free to write me into your novel, as long as you make me thinner and younger. Even if you kill me, please make me thinner and younger.

    • LOL! You are so funny! Hmmmm…maybe a parody of Stephen King’s “Thinner”???

      • I don’t think I want to get ‘thinner’ that way. As horrible as it sounds, I’d rather diet and exercise. 🙂

  10. I learned more great things about you from this introduction interview. I too, just trying to write from a serial killer’s perspective. It is challenging as I don’t commonly think that way. Can wait to read more of your work. Goldie ALICE

    • Add the word, “like”. Dang fast fingers!

      • Hi Goldie, you know I’ve found, disturbingly, that writing from a serial killer’s perspective comes very easily for me. LOL. My critique partners have told me my villains usually seem more ‘real’ to them than my heroes and heroines. Good luck with your story. Hope to read it some day. Thanks SO much for stopping by!

  11. Nice to meet you Alicia!

  12. Hi, Alicia! I love everything you write and am anxious to start Soul Seducer! (I’m one of those people who has to finish one book before starting another.) And I agree, your kids’ names are wonderful! That whole liking-the-cold thing though…I moved south to escape it! 🙂

    • Hi Leah…back at ya. You know I love everything you write too. Hope you enjoy Soul Seducer. I know, I’m a little odd. Most people don’t like cold weather. Thank you so much for stopping by!

  13. Alicia, you are such a neat person to know. And like you, I like winter too. Great interview. And wishingyou the best

    • Aw, thanks Judy. I guess I’m not the only oddball. You’re a great person to know, too. So funny! Looking forward to the next time we hang out. Wishing you the best too!

      • mee too. Stay cool.

  14. Friendly with your ex- you’re a better woman than I am.

  15. You have a special relationship with your ex to keep it friendly. I’m happy for you, because it doesn’t happen in many.

    I’m with you the writing, I never seem to have enough time in the day, still be mom, a friend, do my day job and getting our names out there…but I love it all!

    I’m a big fan of Elvis’ greatest hits and inherited it from my older son. When my younger son and I took a road trip, the rental had a station for just Elvis music…my son is not into Elvis. ‘In the Ghetto’, ‘Romeo & Juliet’ are a couple on the top of my list.

  16. I’m finally catching up on these interviews – so great to meet you.

    I definitely think you need to share that 11-year-old you’s Elvis romance novel! That’s why we have the internet, no?

    Congratulations on your new book!

    • Hi Lynn, Kay, Lisa. Sorry I’m late in responding. Yes, my ex and I are on friendly terms. It works well for us, but then, we don’t hate each other, so it’s easy. 🙂

      Very cool that you like Elvis’ greatest hits…I used to have Sirrius radio and I listened to the Elvis station all the time. I need to subscribe again. I miss it!

      LOL, Lisa. I might post that story to my website one day. It wouldn’t take long. It’s a VERY short story.

      Thank you to all for stopping by….


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

