Pam B. Morris -Lady in Red

1. Introduce yourself, please (name you write under). Is this a pen or personal name? Why did you make the choice to write under that name?

I’m Pam Morris and write under Pam B. Morris so I can keep myself straight.  Smitten Image is set to be released, July 23, 2012!!

2. Let’s get the details out of the way:

Single, married, divorced, widowed?

Married for oh, so many years!

Parent?

Yes and extremely proud. A daughter, Kate, brilliant and creative playwright, soon to be grad student. A son, Jackson, sous chef at one of Missoula’s favorite Italian bistros. Love ’em both to pieces!

Living where?

Stevensville, Montana

Doing what, other than writing?

Paint watercolor and do other artsy stuff. I’m a retired K-8 school librarian and still give books out like candy.

One—just one—physical characteristic:

I’m very short.

3. What’s your secret passion?

Skinny dipping.

4. Tell us one thing about yourself you’d never change.

My silliness.

5. If you didn’t live where you do, where would you live? Why?

In a wilderness. I love the mountains, the space, the peace and beauty and sense of being part of the wild life but not the human race (a total cop-out but then I’m a total nerd)!

6. Do you write about where you live or where you’d like to live?

Yes, because I write totally from my imagination and that’s where I belong. My gig at the moment is futuristic paranormal.

7. What’s the first creative writing you remember doing outside a class?

A really crappy, sappy novel I wrote in pencil on notebook paper when I was sixteen.

8. Why do you write romance novels?

To combine great love stories with quirky characters and off beat plots.

9. What else do you write? Young adult and hopefully one day, a graphic novel.

10. What one thing from your book did you take from personal experience?

The heroine, Lily Barnett, is very  much like me, short, drifty, an artist who lives in her creative imagination.

11. What did you cut from your book that felt like severing a body part?

I had to take out one of the portrait paintings that comes to life, a diminutive, seven inch tall super hero!

12. Do you identify closely with one particular character? How?

The heroine, Lily, is constantly befuddled by reality. And that’s very me.

13. The best part about my writing life is:

I disappear and my characters become real.

14. The worst part about my writing life is:

I’m not enjoying what I call the “Network Rumba” much, though it’s a joy meeting so many other creative, fantastic people, especially my fellow Crimson Romance authors.

15. Give us a hint about what the next book’s like.

My next story is also set in futuristic New Chicago and is about an apprentice pleasure succubus trying to get out of the family “call girl” business and a space-jumping spy willing to die to keep her alive.

23 Comments

  1. Well, I have to admit–that story about the Succubus and Spy. I like that! 🙂

    • Thanks, I’m a pantzer so really have to work the brain pan to get this story done!!

  2. Nice post, Pam. I’ve just got two questions – what’s the name of your book and when will it be out?

    • Thank you, Mary, for pointing out I owe yet another dollar to the “oops” kitty. I accidentally posted this twice too. The book is Smitten Image, a paranormal romance set in 2039 New Chicago where a drifty artist drinks a love potion and paints portraits of her “perfect men” who come to life and stalk her! (I could have so used Deborah’s wall photos for this!!)

      • Sounds like fun. For fun, my college roommate and I used to play a game where we could “construct” our perfect man using body parts of famous people – I always started with Gene Kelly’s backside (I am SUCH a geek….)

  3. Nice to meet you!

    • Thanks Diane. I love that we’re all so different! My world’s a better place because of all the Ladies in Red, let me tell you!

  4. It’s so great to learn more about you! Fun post. Thank you for sharing.

    • Thanks, Ines! I love your book cover, actually all the book covers. Isn’t this just trippy?!

  5. Oohh succubi – hot! Thanks for sharing!

    • You bet, Irene! Now you know I’m kinda more wacked than the normal wacko!!

  6. Nice to meet you, Pam!

    • Thanks, Heather. I’ve loved every minute spent with the Crimson Authors. My world is so much better, and bigger… and I’m only a little scared by it!!

  7. Hi, enjoyed getting to know you better!

    • Well, everyone’s “succubus” is different… I call them Voluptura in my book because they are basically genetically culled to be the best “Mm’s” in the red light district!!

      • Thanks D’Ann. I’ve certainly enjoyed getting to know everyone too. What a diverse group we are, to say the least. And very funny!!

  8. Great responses. Not totally sure what an apprentice pleasure succubus is but it sounds like it would be fun to write about.

    • Thanks, Peggy! Succubus is an ugly word, and there’s some show on TV (that my husband watches) that interchanges succubus with vampires. So not in the same gene pool!!

  9. Pam, I was also a school librarian for a while. Everyone knows what they will get from me at Christmas. Can’t wait to read your book!

    • Thank you so much! I loved being a librarian, and used to know all the latest books coming out!! Boy have things changed!

  10. I love Lily…she does remind me of you. You are an amazing writer. I can’t wait to hold Smitten Image in my hands and jump around like a crazy fool with you!!

    Rionna

    • Thank you as always, Rionna. My next heroine is going to resemble you because after the hours you helped me get my FB fan page working and my networking more organized yesterday, you are my goddess extraordinaire as well as guardian angel!!

  11. I love Montana — and if I lived there, I would skinny dip too! (Less looky-loos up there, right?) Congratulations on your book!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

