Falling in Love Again…and Again….and Again…for the Very First Time

When I was a kid, I had a very ordinary name. In fact, it was so ordinary that there were other people using my name! Well that wasn’t going to do! Fortunately, a fellow camp counselor decided she was going to rename me and I became Casey Martin/Clark/D’Elia/Young/Dawes…..Oh well.  Danielle Steele once wrote a romance about a woman who had five marriages.  It happens.

Especially if you don’t know how to love yourself and you fall for…well…men with issues.  But it’s all good, because it gives me lots of material to write about :-).

Now that I’ve finally gotten it right, I’ve moved back to Montana with my love.  I live right on the Clark Fork River where I get to watch the birds, fox, neighbor dog and deer play during the day.  I have my own “woman cave”  for my writing, quilting and daydreaming.  Between us, we have three grown boys, three stepchildren, seven grandchildren and two cats who think they own the joint.

Clark Fork River in early springPeople frequently ask where I’ve lived.  In chronological order — New Jersey, Massachusetts, New Jersey, Michigan, Montana (in a town with 350 year-round residents), New York City (42nd and 9th to be exact), Pennsylvania, California, and back to Montana.  Yes. I like Montana best.  I feel like my soul is complete again.

My current first story takes place in California, with a Montana connection.  Because I’ve done a great many things (if only in my mind), my characters have a variety of occupations. What, you ask?  I’ve got a Masters degree from the University of Michigan in theater. Which totally explains why I spent 25+ years in the tech industry — right?  I’ve taught college and junior high school, worked in the theater, been a life and business coach (my current occupation), written books on wineries (research was fun on that one) and technical books. I love to reinvent myself!

I’m in love with love in all its forms, which is why I’ve finally settled into the romance genre.  Watching someone grow and change as they adapt to another person’s characteristics is interesting. It took me a long time to learn, but I finally know you have to love yourself first before you can find the love of your life.

That’s one of the lessons the heroine of my first novel, California Sunset, has to learn.  There are, of course, others.  I look forward to hearing your reaction when it comes out.

And, of course, I’d love to receive your comments and thoughts about romance and how it has played into your own life.

23 Comments

  1. I can really relate to this, Casey–not so many places to live but multiple careers in unrelated fields, multiple last names, fascination with the characters who come to live with me for awhile and, maybe, teach me something about myself. Look forward to reading your book.

    • Thanks, Peggy! I just purchased Beginning Again and look forward to reading it!

  2. I am so glad that you are in Montana! We love having you. You are an inspiration. You’re among the strongest, most amazing women I have ever known. Your writing is wonderful and I love it that I call you my friend.

    All the Best,
    Rionna

  3. Casey, thanks for letting us know you a little better. Best wishes for you and your book.

  4. Nice blog. I’m hoping I’m able to post this here. At least I can read this page again.

  5. Wow – what a life – all those moves. You must have some great stories to tell!

    • Oh, yeah….many are only revealed after many glasses of wine! LOL! Looking forward to reading your book, Irene!

  6. What an awesome picture. I love that you feel it too, sometimes a state just adopts you and not the other way around.

  7. Casey – I always wanted a common name. Growing up with something so different, I wanted to be like everyone else. And I agree, life gives us plenty of plot material.

  8. What an interesting life, Casey. Thanks for sharing! And I love the picture.

  9. Nice article, Casey. I share your wanderlust and the many professional hats you’ve worn. Maybe we’re sisters.

  10. I lived a lot of places, too, but a tiny town in Colorado is home. I dont want to be anywhere else, ever!

  11. Thanks for all the comments! I really appreciate all the kind words…back to writing now!

  12. Wonderful post Casey!

  13. This is an awesome post, Casey. And so true of so many of us. Thanks for letting it hang out there! And I’m loving reading California Sunset! So glad you are part of my critique peeps! You are a phenomenon!

  14. What a nice intro, Casey. My husband and I recently went to Montana for the first time and I absolutely see why it’s your favorite! I can’t even imagine having my own “woman cake” there. Congratulations on finding your place and your new book!

    • Thanks Lisa! Glad you enjoyed Montana. Good luck with your own book coming out July 23rd!

  15. And by “woman cake” I meant “woman cave.” But you knew that.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

