Meet the Ladies in Red — Heather Thurmeier

Author Heather Thurmeier

Introduce yourself, please.

My name is Heather Thurmeier. I write contemporary romance. I was born and raised in the Canadian prairies but now I live in upstate New York with my own personal romance hero (aka my hubs), my kids and an adventurous King Charles Cavalier named Indiana Jones (Indy for short).

What’s your secret passion?

Besides writing, of course? Riding horses. If I could spend my free time (when I’m on mom’s time off and not writing!) I’d love to ride horses. For a brief time in high school, I took English riding lessons and even got to jump once. It was amazing. I hope to get back into riding again someday.

Tell us one thing about yourself you’d never change.

My sense of humor. It enters into so many aspects of my life and my writing.

If you didn’t live where you do, where would you live? Why?

I’d totally live in Maui. It’s where we went on our honeymoon and if we wouldn’t have missed our families so much, we would have stayed forever. The island life agreed with us. We loved being outside, exploring the island, sunsets over the water were nothing short of magical and the weather was perfect. My hair has never felt so soft and luxurious as it did while on the island!

Do you write about where you live or where you’d like to live?

Both. I often write about the New York area because I’m familiar with it. But sometimes my character just don’t want to tell their story from here. So in those times, I do a lot of research about the new place. I look up tourism information, businesses, and even real estate listing. I love the research!

What’s the first creative writing you remember doing outside a class? 

I think I’ve always written poetry at home on my own time. Or at least I did when I was young. I can’t say as I’ve written any poetry in many years.

Why do you write romance novels?

Because I’m a sucker for a happy ending. There’s nothing that tweaks my heart strings more than seeing an old married couple holding hands or eating dinner together. There’s something so incredible about a love that can stand the test of time. I feel blessed everyday that fate stepped in and connected me to my husband. I wouldn’t be the person I am today if it weren’t for him. Writing romance allows me to give that to other people, even if it’s only characters in my books.

What else do you write?

Mostly I write contemporary romances, but I’ve also started a series of paranormal romances (not yet published).

What one thing from your book did you take from personal experience?

My book, Falling for You, coming from Crimson Romance in August, is about a girl who goes on a reality dating show. I’ve never been on a reality show of any kind, but I am a huge fan. I’ve watched all kinds of different shows and I drew on that to tell this story. I always imagined what happened behind the scenes with my favorite reality show stars. Writing this book let me play out what I imagine it might be like.

Also, the horse back riding in the book is from my past experiences with horses. I love going for a trail rides.

What did you cut from your book that felt like severing a body part?

Nothing. Honestly, every cut made my book stronger, better, and more enjoyable and that’s what I want to give my readers. Every word I cut I still have on my computer in an original version, so it’s not like I had to part with the words forever. And really, they’re just words. In the end, I’m thrilled with the way Falling for You turned out and I’m so excited for people to get a chance to read it!

Do you identify closely with one particular character? How?

I identify a lot with the main character Cassidy. She really puts herself in a position where she’s not comfortable and because of that, she falls in love and finds her happily ever after. Moving to the States with my boyfriend (now husband) was terrifying and totally out of my comfort zone. But I’m glad I took the chance to do it. If I’d been too afraid to move with him, I would have missed out on this life I have now.

The best part about my writing life is:

Getting to tell the stories I want to tell how I want to tell them. It’s just me, my imagination and my computer.

The worst part about my writing life is:

Not having unlimited time each day to write as much as I want. I still have kids, a husband, a dog and a house to take of too. Sometimes it can be tricky to balance it all.

Give us a hint about what the next book’s like.

In Stuck with You, we get to follow Paige as she goes on another reality show where she has to work with her team mate to find geocaches to win the grand prize—but she didn’t expect to find love on the show too.

I love to connect with readers and authors! Connect with me at:

Website: http://heatherthurmeier.com

Twitter: hthurmeier

Facebook: HeatherThurmeierAuthor

Pintrest: hthurmeier

Goodreads: Heather Thurmeier

11 Comments

  1. Torturing your characters makes great reading. I look forward to Falling For You! Great post – nice to meet you.

  2. Great interview, Heather! When I was young I used to ride horses in my father’s farm in Brazil. It’s funny to remember because we had only one saddle and when my mom was riding, too, she would have the saddle, of course. So, I rode bareback many times and almost got thrown out of the horse once.

  3. Thanks for introducing yourself to us, Heather! I haven’t been horseback riding in years… You’ve inspired me to break the long streak!

  4. Thanks for stopping by girls!

  5. Both books sound so fun, Heather! Nice getting to know you a little better, Heather!

  6. Nice post, Heather. Good to meet you. Look forward to reading your book.

  7. Nice to get to know you, Heather. Your books sound fun!

  8. I so enjoy fresh takes on contemporary themes and look forward to reading Falling for you and its sequel.

  9. Thanks girls! Falling for You actually has 2 planned sequels! I’m so excited for this trilogy!

  10. Oh so so sweet how you talk about your husband! Sigh… 🙂

  11. Great interview, Heather. I love that you followed your heart to move with your honey and now you’ve written that into your story. “Falling for You” sounds really fun – congrats!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

