Introducing…Kristina Knight

1. Introduce yourself, please (name you write under). Is this a pen or personal name? Why did you make the choice to write under that name? Hi, everyone! My name is Kristina Knight, a debut author with Crimson Romance. Yes, that is my real name. I decided a long time ago that the capital K’s in my name would look pretty on a cover…and I was right! Plus, now I don’t have to remember yet another name – I’ve got about 7 already. There’s Kristina (and a variety of nicknames), Mom (and its vast iterations), Babe (from RadioMan), and the list goes on.

2. Let’s get the details out of the way: Single, married, divorced, widowed? Parent? Living where? Doing what, other than writing? One—just one—physical characteristic

I’m married to RadioMan and the stork dropped off bebe to us almost 4 years ago. She likes it when I tell everyone I had the shortest, best pregnancy ever: there was no labor (well, of the physical, sweaty, painful sort), it started at noon on  a Monday and she was delivered at 3pm that same afternoon. We live on the North Coast of Ohio and I spend most of my days writing at the computer. And, so my rear end doesn’t become as large as the seat of my comfy chair, I teach aqua aerobics classes at our local YMCA, take Zumba classes and walk. A lot. I have auburn hair and green eyes and not a lick of Irish blood in my system. German and English, yes. Go figure.

3. Why do you write romance novels? I love romance novels, have since I was a teen and probably shouldn’t have been reading them. My first romance was a YA novel called PS I Love You. It was filled with teen angst and death and cancer and a more tragic than happily ever after ending. I remember as I read it thinking I would have done it differently. I would have allowed Mariah to have her happy ending with Paul, even though she learned more from the unhappy finish. But that’s me: I like the happy. The struggle through life’s little surprises may make us stronger, but I like that struggle to have a solid, happy ending, too. So that’s what I write.

4. Do you identify closely with one particular character? How? In What a Texas Girl Wants, my debut book, I really identified with Kathleen because she has a firm idea of where she thinks she needs to be. I spent a lot of years trying to follow the path I thought my parents and friends and professors wanted me to take. It wasn’t a bad road, it just wasn’t the road I truly wanted to be on. Now that I’m on my own path I’m so much happier. That’s the journey Kathleen takes in the story, a journey of self-fulfillment and true love. I hope you all love Jackson and Kathleen as much as I love them.

5. Give us a hint about what the next book’s like. My second Crimson Romance is out later this fall and is (tentatively) titled The Saint’s Devilish Deal. It features an injured surfer and a wound-too-tightly B&B manager and a lovely destination, Puerto Vallarta.

Anyway, that is the Cliff’s Notes version of my writing life. I’m so excited to be part of the Crimson Romance family! If you want to know even more about me, stop by my website or look me up on Facebook or Twitter.

20 Comments

  1. Great interview and I love the title of your 2nd Crimson book.

  2. So nice to get to know you better! Can’t wait to read your debut!!!

  3. Congrats on the second book!!! I. Must. Get. Writing. LOL

  4. Thanks for coming by, Sharon and Berinn!

    Sharon, my Saint makes my heart go all thumpy-thumpy…. 😉

  5. Thanks, Lynn. I loved reading The Bull Rider’s Brother – so you’d better write FAST!! I need another hit! 😉

  6. Hi Kristine,
    Congratulations on finding your way! I’m still finding mine.
    And I agree, I lilke happy endings too!

  7. Hi, Kristi!
    Good interview!

  8. Nice post. It explains why you like “happily-ever-after.” Sounds like you have it in real life!

  9. I agree with you, a happily ever after is imperative. And bravo on the second book. 🙂

  10. Thanks for stopping by D’Ann, MV, Peggy and Carmen!

  11. Hi, Kristi! Kudos on finding your own path! Do we all go through this, especially as writers? Especially as romance writers? I read cross-genre and love an occasional tragedy. But when I write? It’s all about the happy ending!

  12. Great interview Kristina. I can’t wait to read your book and lucky you on that short labor. LOL.

  13. Wonderful interview, Kristina! Can’t wait to read your book! And the next and the next and the next 🙂

  14. Great interview, Kristina. I’m so looking forward to reading your book.

  15. Nice interview, Kristi. Hope you get to keep the title if the second book. I like it.

  16. Thanks for letting us get to know you better, Kristina! Just started reading What A Texas Girls Wants, and I gotta tell ya, I think I’m going to be up all night!!

  17. Congrats on the second book and I really enjoyed the interview.

  18. I read PS I Love You, too! It was one of my favorites (I still have it- the pages are yellow and cracking). Thanks for taking me back…

  19. I all the time used to study piece of writing in news papers
    but now as I am a user of internet thus from now I am using net for
    content, thanks to web.

  20. Finally getting through all these interviews — so fun to read this *after* I read your book! P.S. You have the best non-pen name ever!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

