Meet Lady In Red Irene Preston

Hello, World – I’m Irene Prestonand I’m ready to play!

Punkin Doodle

Meet Punkin Doodle, too!

For my initial posting, I’ll keep it simple and answer a few questions the LIR came up with so we can get to know each other.

1. Introduce yourself, please

I’m Irene Preston. I write spicy contemporary romance and my novel, Infamous, releases June 4.

2. Let’s get the details out of the way

Single, married, divorced, widowed?

So very happily married.

Parent?

I’ve managed to produce one beautiful daughter who continually surprises me. Yay, me!

Living where?

In the beautiful Texas hill country outside of Austin.

Doing what, other than writing?

Dream Man and I run a small business together – between that and the writing I’m pretty busy. When we get time, we like to play with our Golden Doodle, try out new recipes with fresh produce from the garden, and maybe take a little trip now and then.

One, just one, physical characteristic

Large feet – it prohibits me from shoe-shopping in Paris (le sigh).

3. What’s your secret passion?

If I told you, it wouldn’t be a secret!

4. Tell us one thing about yourself you’d never change.

It’s not really a nice quality, but I don’t think I’d change my obstinacy. I’d never be where I am today if I’d had the good sense to back down a few times.

5. If you didn’t live where you do, where would you live? Why?

I’d love to say Paris, because it is one of my favorite cities (oh, the food! oh, the art!). Realistically, I’d probably live somewhere in Louisiana as that is where most of our family is. New Orleans or Baton Rouge are the most likely candidates (with benefits of oh, the food!).

6. Do you write about where you live or where you’d like to live?

Neither, really. My stories are character driven and they are in whatever setting they need to be in for the story to work. Infamous is in California because that’s Jessica’s playground.

7. What’s the first creative writing you remember doing outside a class?

Gosh, I think I was always scribbling something when I was a kid. The only thing I vaguely remember details of was a fantasy scene, very mystical.

8. Why do you write romance novels?

It’s all about the passion. I love the emotional intensity of a good romance.

9. What else do you write?

Contemporary fantasy with a romantic element. I’d love to write some science fiction, but the writing and science sides of my brain don’t seem to want to play together.

10. What one thing from your book did you take from personal experience?

The way Jessica sits in her chair when she writes. Now isn’t that silly? Also, before my daughter was born I had some anxiety about whether I would be a good mother. I was worried the maternal instincts wouldn’t kick in, so there is a little of that.

11. What did you cut from your book that felt like severing a body part?

Nothing so drastic! I did trim some of Morgan’s backstory, but I got through relatively unscathed.

12. Do you identify closely with one particular character? How?

Interesting! This book is all about Jessica, but if I had to pick a character I identify more closely with it would be Morgan. When it comes down to it, I’m pretty conservative and boring.

13. The best part about my writing life is

I can show an interest in the most wide-spread and bizarre topics (research). Also, I am now paid to think about sex!

14. The worst part about my writing life is

Finding time to write. It’s why I’m always writing at midnight, determined to get some words on the page.

15. Give us a hint about what the next book’s like.

Well, Jessica was so dramatic and she and Morgan epitomized ‘opposites attract.’ I started wondering about Jessica’s friend, the so-perfect Susan. She’s falling for her doctor and they are both so sweet and good. They are both paragons of human virtue! All I could think was boring, boring, boring. So I started wondering how I could shake things up a little bit. What motivates people who are so giving? Are Susan and Grey really that staid behind closed doors?

Bio

Irene Preston has to write romances, after all she is living one.  As a starving college student, she met her dream man who whisked her away on a romantic honeymoon across Europe.  Today they live in the beautiful hill country outside of Austin, Texas where Dream Man is still working hard to make sure she never has to take off her rose-colored glasses.

Infamous Book Cover by Irene Preston

Infamous by Irene Preston

Infamousby Irene Preston What happens when a Hollywood socialite falls for a conservative soccer dad?

 

Everyone knows Jessica Sinclair.  She’s that girl on the cover of all the tabloids. As a Hollywood insider, Jessica has spent her life partying with A-list celebrities, shopping on Rodeo Drive, and living through scandal after scandal. When her estranged husband offers her a second chance at the ‘All American’ lifestyle she can’t pass up a shot at real happiness.  Back in suburbia, Jessica spends her nights in sexy role-play hoping Morgan will overlook her deficiencies as a homemaker.  She spends her days attending  P.T.A. meetings, burning cookies, and asking herself “What would June Cleaver do?”  More to the point, what will Morgan do when she winds up back in the tabloids–with his teenage daughter right next to her?

Infamous will be available June 4, 2012 at your favorite e-book outlets.

Pre-Order Infamous now on Amazon

Visit Irene at:

IrenePreston.com

http://www.facebook.com/AuthorIrenePreston 

@IrenePreston

11 Comments

  1. Love the cover! And nice to meet you, Irene!

  2. You’re writing Susan’s story?! Squee! What a great scoop to toss into an interview. 🙂

    • “Writing” might be stretching what I’ve been doing the past few weeks – but, yes, Susan and Grey are on deck!

  3. *claps* *bounces* Can’t wait to read Susan’s story!!! I’m still sighing over Jessica’s happy ending.

  4. I can’t wait to read Infamous, Irene. It sounds like fun!

  5. Love your Doodle! I have two – a Golden Doodle named Sammy and a Cockapoo named Buddy who insists he’s a Doodle too. Can not wait for Infamous – it’s at the top of my June 4 list!

  6. Irene,
    Wonderful to meet you! I’m going to have to beg some help from you about your dog. I grew up with Australian Shepards, but that dog is unrealistic for us…no work for him/her. But I have a 9 year old who so wants a dog! We’re thinking of a …doodle.

    Can’t wait to read your book–Morgan–great name! 🙂

    All the Best,
    Rionna Morgan

    • Hi Rionna! Doodles are WONDERFUL with kids. The just adore them and are very nurturing. We had a wonderful Border Collie for many years (much like an Australian Shepherd). Both breeds make amazing pets, but they are exactly opposite in almost every way (I make lists in my head sometime). A doodle will be energetic enough to play with your kiddo, but not as obsessive about it as the Shepherd. Doodles need their naps and cuddle time!

  7. Hi, Irene! Cannot wait for June 4 when I can read Infamous. Very cool that your next book explores the secret lives of the other characters. Spicy, Paris-loving writers like you and I should stick together!

  8. […] Review: Irene Preston’s Infamous […]


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

